I know it’s been a while but I wasn’t really too keen on writing in the past few days… or weeks… but pride means a lot to me so I still want to write about this amazing day I had!

On Saturday the 15th, I went to Munich with a bunch of friends for the annual pride parade. We were going to meet up and wait for the parade and (some of us) later join the parade (just like last year) when our friend’s group appears. Some of our group I hadn’t met before but it was really nice to talk to new people and I’d definitely say we had lots of fun!

In both 2015 and 2016, we had over 30 degrees and not a single cloud in the sky on the day of the parade but this year it was finally cooler and that made things a bit easier. But the sun was stronger than I anticipated which means for the third year in a row I got a sunstroke and was basically out of it for the next three days. Perfect. When will I learn?

Pride means a lot to me. This has several reasons:

  • I love to celebrate and I love to celebrate our diversity. I like being happy and proud of myself and of who I am so I like to go to events that strengthen these feelings.
  • I love that so many people are proud and it’s just such a good feeling to see that. It’s awesome to see people having fun and enjoying themselves and showing how much they love their partners and themselves without fearing the consequences. Pride has been a very safe space whenever I was there and I’m so glad it is.
  • I love that there are so many different groups! Every year so far I’ve seen a group for a thing I haven’t heard about (or forgot already) where LGBTQ people grouped together and can be proud. There are organisations for older people, disabled people, dancers, singers, choirs, sports groups, a hiking group and so much more. No matter who you are, there are people you fit in with and you’re not alone. That’s one of the things the parade symbolises for me every year and it makes me so incredibly happy and hopeful.
  • I always notice how much I’d love to get involved more in the community when I go to pride or do something else connected to the LGBTQ community. Right now that’s not so easy because I just can’t afford to go to Munich all the time (why, public transport, why??) but I know that I can do something and that there are so many places I could go to.
    It’s also great to see so many people who don’t just celebrate but who also offer a lot of their time to help others. That restores a tiny bit of my faith in humanity.

A bunch of my pictures from the parade:

I’d also love to write about the following two pictures. They are in a leaflet I got after the parade and I’ve been interested in this topic for a while. Unfortunately, I lost the notes I once wrote about it so I’m not sure if I can still gather what I want to say. But I will see. And generally, I think these two maps are incredibly interesting and also important to think about. Especially when you live in a very privileged country as I do.


Did you go to a pride parade this summer? Or is one still coming up? Talk to me about it!

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

