I want to preface this review with two things:

A) This won’t be spoiler free. I can’t do spoiler free film reviews and also, everyone sees spoilers in a different way so who knows if I write the right things. I also assume that many people have already seen this movie because
B) What the fuck, Germany? In my Wonder Woman review, I already complained that the movie was in German cinemas later than basically everywhere else and with Spider-man this happened again?? It used to be different, what is going on?? I don’t like this development at all and I hate having to dodge spoilers. Step up your game, please.

Nevertheless, yesterday I could finally see the movie and boy, was it good!

Characters

I loved Tom Holland as Spiderman since the very beginning and mostly because of him I was excited about this movie and he was even better than I hoped for! Peter Parker is awkward and immature and very young and still learning so much, he’s trying his best to navigate his normal life and all the troubles being a teenager brings and his responsibility as a superhero. And he struggles with this balance and kind of fails but that’s okay because he’s so young and still learning and it looked so much more believable than any other Spiderman movie I’ve seen before and I was so happy about that. It’s also quite relatable. Everyone has to grow into their roles and you can’t be good at everything from the beginning. You need to learn and practice and be careful that you don’t do things you’re not ready for yet.

I absolutely love Peter’s excitement for everything concerning superheroes and his abilities. I love his “video diary” in the beginning and how much of a fanboy he is whenever he meets a new Avengers or Tony. And those scenes when he unlocks the 500 different kinds of web shooters (?? what are these things called again) and he tries them all out with the “suit lady” Karen and things go wrong and he’s super excited? Amazing. One of my favourite scenes/sequences in the whole movie. He really feels like a kid, but a kid that is learning a lot and facing very adult things and who isn’t JUST a kid and they did that so well, not just Tom Holland himself but also the people who wrote the script.

Peter’s friendship with Ned is great! I love how they nerd together over the suit and Star Wars and the Avengers and I’m glad Peter doesn’t keep everything from him. Of course, he doesn’t really have a choice but still, I find it really annoying when the characters need 10 years to tell anyone about anything.

I really like all of the high school characters, really. Michelle (or MJ) is great! I hoped she would have a bigger role in the movie but there were many other students who had a role too so I understand why she wasn’t featured so hugely. I’m sure this will change in the sequel anyway.

I love aunt May. She tries so hard to be a parent for Peter and she’s not really great at it, at least not all the time, but she tries and she cares a lot about him. I also hope we see more of her in the sequel as well because she’s great! I’m also really glad she found out about Peter in the hilarious mid-credits scene. She really deserves to know.

Tony Stark appeared a bit too much for my taste. He’s not a bad character but I do feel that we’ve seen enough of him and he doesn’t need to be involved in everything as much. But I also know that he wants to teach Peter and wants to make him a good Avengers, someone better than himself, and wants to help him so I do see why he is there.

I also think Tony sometimes ruins the moment. For example in the door scene. It’s a nice scene and he is serious (kind of) and is actually saying something important and then it has to be ruined with a “funny” joke or scene or something. That happens way too often in Marvel movies, as explained in this video.

Plot

I definitely liked the plot and I really like how much it ties-in with the other MCU movies. Of course, there’s this big plot hole because actually Avengers happened in 2012 and Homecoming in 2017 and that’s not 8 years later as the title card said and I was very confused by that for a while but here is a video explaining why this happened.

I really like that a lot of the plot was focused on Peter’s life in general, not just the superhero part and not just his battle with the Vulture. We get to see him in school and with friends and his aunt and doing loads of normal teenager things and that he enjoys those too and doesn’t just want to be a superhero. That ties in very well with the decision he makes in the end because of course, he doesn’t want to leave behind all his friends!

Generally, I think there was a good mixture of jokes and hilarious scenes, battles and serious moments. The perfect balance for this sort of movie and for this variation of Peter Parker!

The plot twist about the Vulture being Liz’ dad was SO good! I definitely didn’t expect that and I think most of the cinema gasped with me when the door opened. I fucking love plot twists. The Vulture was a pretty great villain. I found him actually scary with this huge wings and crazy-looking face and he would definitely have scared me as a 15-year-old.

Peter goes through quite the character development just in this movie. The ending surprised me. I didn’t think he would already get such a huge offer from Tony and that he then would turn it down, which the others didn’t expect at all. So mature of him!

Apart from the “you still got stuff to learn” message there’s also one about how powerful people don’t care at all about people beneath them and how they will just ignore them (as Happy and Tony ignore Ned and Peter) or make their lives worse (as the Vulture and his colleagues lose their jobs in the beginning of the movie). This is explained really well in this review of the movie. This is not just relatable, it also shows how Peter is truly the “friendly neighbourhood Spiderman” and “just a kid from Queens”, not a billionaire or god. He’s not like the other Avengers. At least not yet.

Speaking of Avengers, let’s take a minute to appreciate the hilarious Captain America scenes! Those videos were some of the funniest moments of the movie and the end credits scene was so worth waiting for.

The last big thing I want to mention is the whole romance/crush situation: I’m always annoyed when something like that happens in a movie because it’s so overused and often too cliché but I must say I was so happy it wasn’t such a HUGE deal for Peter and he still focused on many other things. And the ending was normal and not the “and then they kiss” cliché. (Which would have annoyed me so much because they are FIFTEEN, not every small crush becomes a relationship!) He was okay with it ending and she was too and it’s not the most important thing in the world. Thank goodness. 

More comments

  • Does anyone else think that the trailers spoiled way too much of the movie? You could basically puzzle together exactly what happens when and after watching the movie I’m definitely a bit annoyed by that. It would have been great not to have the hugging/door scene or the falling Death Star scene in the trailers because they would have been way funnier otherwise. And so much of the battles/action scenes were in the trailers :/
  • I want a two-hour movie of Peter trying out all the different things his suit can do with commentary from Karen. Those few scenes we got were already hilarious, I want more!
  • Yes I know I always alternate between Spiderman and Spider-Man. I will never be able to choose one, I don’t know why.
  • This is getting way too long, I need to stop and instead watch all the easter egg videos about the movie.

What do you think about Spider-Man: Homecoming? Tell me everything!

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

