books of the month: june 2017

This month I’ve read six books! This means that now, halfway through 2017, I’ve already read 34 books aka 10 ahead of my Goodreads goal or 68%. Wow. This is going so well??

The Best

SolitaireSolitaire by Alice Oseman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

So, I absolutely loved Alice Oseman’s Radio Silence and I really hoped I would like this too and I WAS RIGHT, WHOOOO!

A lot of thoughts I have about this book are very similar to what I thought about Radio Silence so let’s keep this rather short.

I love her writing! So much! Something about it really grips me and makes it feel *real* to me, it’s incredibly relatable, even though I don’t agree with the choices the characters make A LOT, and her characters seem like actual teenagers to me who say what actual teenagers would say. You would think I could say this about a lot of books but I actually think I cannot so this makes me really happy!

The diversity is maybe not quite as strong as in Radio Silence (but this is her first book!) but it’s still pretty amazing. So many hard but important topics are mentioned!
Eating disorders (or OCD? it’s never really mentioned what exactly it is), anxiety, depression, suicide, being kind of a cast out at your school, being smart but not in a way that school likes, etc.

In the beginning, I found Tori (the main character) super relatable. She started to annoy me more and more and so did basically everyone else but I still found them relatable and true and they did the stupid things people do sometimes. That doesn’t mean I didn’t want to throw everyone against a wall at some point… why are you like this, people??

I’m not entirely happy with the ending or the last couple of chapters but I can’t really pinpoint why. And I also don’t want to spoil anything so I’ll be quiet. And that didn’t make me like the book less anyway!

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve been sitting here for what feels like forever, trying to figure out how to talk about this book. Ahhhh.

I LOVED IT, I really did! I already liked Lady Midnight SO much but this one might be even better?? I definitely love this series more than the TMI or TID series. Definitely.

“Okay, and why is this book so good?” you might ask. (You fool, just read it and find out for yourself, it’s worth it)

The plot is so amazing! There are so many subplots and they all align and interweave and collide and separate again and it’s all super interesting and it basically keeps all the characters busy, they are all ACTUALLY doing something and through that, you also get to know the characters way better and that even though there are SO MANY of them. It’s great.

I also really liked the plot?? It was super interesting and there were twists I didn’t expect and the whole Faerie stuff is so cool and I loved learning more about the culture and country and society of the faeries and can’t wait to see the drama of the next book! (Why do we have to wait two years for Queen of Air and Darkness, why oh why??)

I think the Annabel-and-Malcolm storyline, in general, is super interesting. Annabel is kind of badass, very scary AND a poor girl that kinda needs to be protected. Very conflicting feelings here.

I love that there are so many relationships and that not all of them are inherently romantic. I love Kit and Ty! It’s so cool that Kit immediately knew what was up with Ty and that he kind of knew how to handle it and is okay with it and helps him and is there for him all the time. I also like that those two and Livvy got a proper plot and investigated things. Ty would be a great Sherlock. I’ve also really come to love Kit. His sarcasm and annoyance are just great and he really is SUCH a Herondale. Perfect.

Mark + Kieran + Cristina was a plotline that I didn’t think I would love as much as I did. But all three are great and Kieran is so complex and kinda mean but not totally and Mark just needs protection and something nice and I love him and I want him to be happy. Cristina is even more badass and intelligent and sweet and lovely and I’m so happy she and Kieran get along so well?? I definitely know what I want with those three to happen but I don’t know if I will get it.

I’m sooooooo glad not the whole book focuses on Jules and Emma and their relationship. I hate it when that happens and I dislike it when there’s this huge forbidden love thing but it gets blown up way out of proportion. No, it didn’t get as annoying and overshadowing-everything-else as I had feared and I actually really liked it. Especially after a certain talk the two had. (“talk” *eyebrowwiggle*)

I’m so happy we got to know Diana’s backstory! She also deserves soo much happiness and I hope she will get it eventually. She’s a great person and she does a lot for the kids and she really needs to get more love and recognition. I hope her love life works out!

It was great that Alec and Magnus and the kids appeared. They are great characters and it’s lovely to see how much they grew up or changed since TMI and I’m happy Tavvy got some friends to play with!

Only Dru was kind of left out and I found that a bit sad. Her small plot line felt a bit awkward and like Cassie just needed another plot so that she isn’t left out. Hm.

There are a few plot lines that were only hinted on or at least not properly explored and they made me so excited for book 3 and I’m already thinking about theories (Clary + Jace, Magnus, the Faerie object, etc.)

I’m so glad there was so much sass and fun and sarcasm in this book! These are always my favourite moments and they were pretty brilliant!

So yes, all in all I can say that I can’t stop talking and thinking about this book and that I loved it SO MUCH, more than I expected!

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

And again I’m so in love with the Harry Potter series and can’t really put my thoughts into words.

I have always loved the last book quite a lot but I’ve seen the movies so many times that I definitely forgot some of the things they had changed from the book. Interestingly, my favourite scenes from the movies don’t appear in the book and my favourite scenes from the book don’t appear in the movies (so I definitely love both (or all three??) a lot!).

I don’t like all the mistrust and sadness in this book but there are so many topics that are so great and important, about love and knowledge and death and society and boxes you put people in and on how complex people are and so on and I loved to revisit these scenes again. So many times I just wanted to shout “YES, this is great!” out loud but the people around me might have minded that.

I’m not sure what else to say. Just that through this reread of the whole series I’ve fallen in love with the Harry Potter series even more and I’m so happy to go back into this universe because it always makes me happy (unless I cry over the various deaths that I’m still not over).

The Rest

The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo, #2)The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan
My rating:
4 of 5 stars

Yay, another awesome book by Rick Riordan! It has all the things I love about his books:
– scary prophecies
– DIVERSITY AHHH
– LGBTQ* people (bisexual Apollo!!!! a f/f parent couple!!!!!!!!!!!)
– mythical creatures
– more hilarious scenes than I can count
– death.

Well, not quite as much the last one but I do think all my favourite books include a bit of darkness and tragedy so… I’m okay with it. I was still very sad, though.

I really enjoyed reading The Dark Prophecy, besides wanting to shout at everyone to please be nicer to each other and to stop hitting each other and oh, why does no one in this universe ever get a break? My poor babies.

To be fair, the plot wasn’t the most exciting one (in parts) and not the most original one, but it was still a lot of fun and there are so many moments that made me smile and laugh and wonder if Rick Riordan has a pop culture reference bucket list he wants to cross off before he dies! And some of the characters certainly had a very interesting character development, mostly Apollo. He is still an arrogant prick but he also cares way more about the people around him and that makes him so much nicer. I wonder how this continues.
I would like to order a spin-off about the Waystation characters, please. There is so much to tell there! Or just about the Waystation itself, I’m not picky. (that’s the lie of the year)

Also, is Rick Riordan hinting on another series about a different kind of mythology?? Please tell me he is! And please tell me he’s going to include this character because he is AMAZING!

I don’t really know what else to say. Just that I’m so happy and also slightly amazed that after all these years these books still fascinate me like in the beginning, I still learn more about mythology, I still am thrilled and amused and I always want more.

Half of a Yellow SunHalf of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
My rating:
4 of 5 stars

I’ve read Ms Adichie’s Americanah a few months ago and loved it and I immediately knew I had to read more of her books. To me, Half of a Yellow Sun is almost as good as Americanah and at least just as interesting.

Half of a Yellow Sun takes place in Nigeria in the 1960s and it goes all the way from the tension in the first few years, through massacres, the secession of a new country called Biafra and through the following war between Biafra and Nigeria until it ends. I already wrote about Americanah that I barely know anything about Nigeria, and especially not about its history, and through Ms Adichie’s books, I definitely learnt a lot.
This book is told from the perspective of three people: a Nigerian woman (Olanna) who is a university lecturer, her partner’s houseboy (Ugwu) and her sister’s partner (Richard) who is a white English guy. Through this you see different perspectives on the whole situation and also on the society in Nigeria and how people are treated differently and what they feel and think about. I found that incredibly interesting.

There’s so much evil in this book too. The racism in this postcolonial country where most whites think they are better than the natives, the sexism of the 1960s and the misogynistic society in general, the crimes of the war (from betrayal, wounds and starvation to rape, humiliation and death) and so much more. It was hard to read sometimes but that doesn’t make it less important.

This book made me think about a lot of things I never thought about before and it offered such a huge insight into this country, this time and the people living there, in different classes of society.

What I didn’t like so much about the book is that I didn’t like any of the characters a lot. That’s not really a bad thing but it just didn’t make me enjoy the book as much as I would have otherwise (so no five stars). Also, I found it pretty annoying that Ugwu always just thought about how beautiful or ugly every girl or woman is, he never really thought about anything else. I’d be so much more interested in his education and what he thinks about the differences between the life he had in his village and in Nsukka. Or if his beliefs changed. Maybe this is supposed to symbolise what a teenage boy constantly thinks about but… it’s just sexist… and shallow.

All in all, Half of a Yellow Sun is still an amazing book and I recommend it to basically everyone because it’s so insightful.

You Are Here: An Owner's Manual for Dangerous MindsYou Are Here: An Owner’s Manual for Dangerous Minds by Jenny Lawson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book is so much fun! This is a colouring book but not only, there are also jokes and nice thoughts to remember and small stories and altogether it’s pretty and lovely and positive!

The pictures are so pretty and I’m definitely having a lot of fun colouring them in or reading the words around them. If you find normal colouring books a bit boring, this might be something for you!

View all my reviews

See you soon ❤

2 thoughts on “books of the month: june 2017

  1. Wooow you had an INCREDIBLE reading month!! Well done!! I absolutely am dyyying with love over Lord of Shadows but ajfdkasajfdklsa that cliffhanger was not. okay. and. I. am. in. pain. *sobs* I LOVE KIEREN AND MARK THOUGH. That’s the ship I want to sail!😂 And Kit and Ty are adorable and I’m so glad Ty’s autism is represented so well! I also really want to read Solitare! I loved the author’s other book Radio Silence so #need.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh thank you!!! yes, I agree with everything you said about Lord of Shadows, I loved the book so much and I could write a novel about all the things I love about it!
      You should totally read Solitaire! It’s soo interesting and I just loove the author!

      Like

Leave a Reply

