books of the month: may 2017

Help, where did this month go? I swear it just flew by, especially after the first week or so was over. Eurovision week happened and I got sucked into the drama and fun even more than usual and right afterwards I went travelling and to a convention and I basically just got back and the month is coming to an end. What? How?

I read five books so one more than in April and again I would have liked to read more but it took me the second half of the month to read The Name of the Wind (Again, because I went travelling. Also, it’s HUGE). I have now read 28 of 50 books in my Goodreads Reading Challenge aka over half of them! I’m really happy about that.

All of the books I read this month were great and I don’t want to put them into categories but I still do.

The Best

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow, this book is long. But I’ve made it! And it’s so good! There are so many cool things about it! I want book 2 immediately! And book 3 but we don’t even have a date for it even though book 2 came out in 2011 WHAT IS THIS? IS THIS GAME OF THRONES OR WHAT ARGH!
So.

The Name of the Wind is narrated in quite a unique way. The plot is basically split into two parts. We have the mysterious innkeeper Kote who after a fun encounter with a creepy spider tells a guy who collects stories and Kote’s friend/student the story of Kvothe aka himself but younger and sometimes the story jumps back to the inn but mostly the book is about Kvothe’s life, his childhood and especially his teenage years.

Kvothe is quite brilliant which is both fun and a liiiittle bit annoying because he’s just *so* good at learning all the things. On the other hand, he does act incredibly stupid sometimes, especially when he’s a moody little teenager. He also always gets himself into trouble and sometimes I really feel like slapping him because OH MY GOSH BOY WHY???
Kvothe loses a lot, has to learn how to survive, attends the University aka a place where you learn amazing things like MAGIC! Everything about the University is sooo interesting to me and I loved reading about it so much. The subjects are interesting, the way how magic works in this universe is also really interesting (but very confusing for me), the Archives are all I ever wanted (please take me there) and all the buildings with their mysterious rooms and underground stuff sound so cool and a bit like Hogwarts.
Of course, Kvothe gets into a lot of trouble at the University but he also finds friends and learns a lot. He is also a really good lute player and music is very precious to him and I really like that about him! He might be a genius but he’s not boring, he likes and hates loads of things and is quite multi-faceted.

I can’t really say that about every character though. I feel like we only meet most characters in passing so we don’t exactly learn a lot about them. Even his best friends at the University appear a lot and he spends more time thinking about that one girl than about any of them which I find a bit sad. Denna is, of course, the mysterious, absolutely beautiful girl. Kvothe’s friends say that she is only like that for him but… there are always men swooning over her and Kvothe constantly talks about her beauty so even though she seems to be quite a strong character and has some awesome qualities about her and has her own business and isn’t just there for him it feels quite boring and cliché-ish sometimes.
I’m happy there are some strong female characters that Kvothe meets along the way and relies on but… there should be more. And it doesn’t really help that everyone makes sexist jokes.

I don’t want to talk about the plot, really, because it’s so interesting and huge and complex, I wouldn’t know where to begin. Just let me say that despite the book’s size I was never bored, always sucked into the story, and always super interested in what happens next. I really can’t wait to get my hands on book 2.

The world-building is incredible! There are all these myths and stories and the history of several countries and languages and culture woven into each other and that was sooo interesting! It really feels like Patrick Rothfuss knows A LOT about this Universe and I so can’t wait to read more!

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh, this took me forever to finish but it was worth it. It’s been a while since I read this book and it’s so big… I didn’t know I had forgotten so many details!

I think I now love it even more than I did before (I mean, I gave it 4 stars but it’s definitely worth 5 to me now) and that definitely has to do with how much I love all the characters. Especially Sirius. Which made this book a very, very sad read for me, but I knew this would happen…
As I said, it took me forever to read this book but mostly the first 300 pages. I had several weeks of break (to read other things) after those and then read the rest in a couple of days. After this break, I finally got properly into the book again and fell in love with everyone and everything. I love everyone’s hatred for Umbridge and the DA and all those things and it made me so happy to read about these things. I love how sarcastic everyone is getting (especially Harry)!

Oh, and I cried so much at the end… sigh…

Harry Potter 5 was great to read and I love it a lot, the writing is great and interesting and I love how much we learn about dozens of characters in this one book.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve run out of things to say about Harry Potter. I love this series so much and I feel like I love it more and more with every time I re-read the books or watch the movies or something like that. This whole world is so beautiful and makes me feel at home.
Ahem. So.

Half-Blood Prince is never a go-to Harry Potter film for me and I never really think about the book or something like that but IT’S ACTUALLY REALLY DAMN GOOD! (I’m also really glad it’s not as long as Order of the Phoenix because who has time to read these long-ass books all the time?)

There is a lot of grief and people dying in Half-Blood Prince with big characters having died just before and in this book and mentions of strange and horrible things happening in the wizarding community. In that way, it’s a rather sad prologue for the even sadder and more tragic Deathly Hallows but it also shows that you can move on from the loss you’ve witnessed and that the people that passed wouldn’t want you to get blinded by grief and rage.

I’m so happy that Ginny appears more in this book. It’s so annoying how Ron gets all cliché big brotherly on her and dating but whatever, I’m glad she’s happy and I’m glad she tries things/guys out. She’s a great character and so strong and I love her. She and Hermoine deserve more scenes together tbh.

I’m glad Dumbledore isn’t so much of an asshole in Half-Blood Prince and I find the lessons he gives Harry really interesting, actually, and I like how we find out so many things through them.

I love how the DA and the Order still play a role in this book even though they aren’t present as much. I just wish they had continued with lessons… that would have been so cool and interesting and I’m sure everyone could have learnt so much more.

Harry does some really stupid things in Half-Blood Prince but that’s normal and human – and he’s a teenager, who can blame him? – so I still love him loads and want him to be protected forever, please. His obsession with Draco is quite hilarious, though. It’s incredible how often he mentions and blames him just in this one book. (No wonder people ship them)

All in all, I enjoyed this re-read a lot. The hilarious jokes and scenes that were thrown in here and there are definitely some lights in the darkness and I’m glad to have that.

The Rest

ReleaseRelease by Patrick Ness
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is basically a book about the single worst day Adam Thorn could have. Seriously, everything only happens in like 12 hours but they are so full of events and I still got sucked into it and could relate to all the characters! Patrick Ness really is an amazing writer.

I kind of feel like I didn’t completely GET the story but I can definitely appreciate all of it. I feel so sorry for Adam and his shitty day but I’m also so happy for him and glad for him and can relate and want to hug him because he deserves one and also a week without worries or anything like that after this one day.

Adam really deserves a better family. They are very religious and homophobic and don’t understand that being gay isn’t a choice or a sin and they don’t really do anything to help Adam and he’s so lost and ughhhh. Even though I can’t personally relate his struggles felt so real and heart-wrenching I wanted to hit someone several times.

It fascinates me how Patrick Ness always manages to weave mystical elements into his stories without making it a fantasy book or adventure or anything like that. This is really unique to him and I love it!

I loved the alternation between Adam and the mystical story and how they only slightly cross paths but it’s still a complex and whole story with a proper ending and ahhh, that’s so well done! The whole ghost-queen-person thing is super interesting and I love how the writing of that part was so flowery and different but still really good and fitting.

Oh, also, the messages of the book are all about love! (No, not the romantic one, only a bit maybe) It’s all about hope and things getting better or being okay and that you deserve to be loved and that you aren’t wrong just because other don’t love you for who you are and THAT’S SO GOOD TO HEAR YAY!

To Be or Not To Be: A Chooseable-Path AdventureTo Be or Not To Be: A Chooseable-Path Adventure by Ryan North
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is so much fun! I found this via some funny tumblr post and so far I’ve gone around a dozen different parts. You can be Hamlet, Ophelia or a ghost, you can fight pirates or people or ghosts and you are judged by the author on the questionable choices you make. That’s pretty cool.
You can go the path that is the actual Hamlet story (and find out how stupid those choices actually are) so very different paths and it’s so much fun, really.
(The pirate story dragged a bit, though.)
Ophelia is really cool and Hamlet so relatable.
Read this.

View all my reviews

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

