books of the month: april 2017

I didn’t read as much in April as I did in March – mostly due to some travelling and finally starting to watch at least a bit of TV – but I still read four books and they were all great! I’m also still stuck in the middle of Harry Potter 5 and that one takes me ages to read. (I have now read 23 books in 2017!)

The Best

We Are the AntsWe Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book is so good and I kind of feel it broke me. I have so many things I love about it but my brain is currently going “ahhhhhhhh” so where do I even begin?

We Are the Ants is written from the perspective of Henry, who is a teenager in high-school who gets abducted by aliens. Those aliens tell him he can save the world or let it die but it’s his choice. And Henry has so many problems and shit to consider that he isn’t sure what to do. And boy, there’s so much going on in his life, the aliens really aren’t his biggest problem.

A huge part of this book is very nihilistic and depressing and sad but it also manages to be funny and interesting and actually inspirational. I probably wouldn’t want to read this on a bad day because I’d just sit here crying for a few hours but I’m so glad I read it. The characters are so well written and interesting and show how complex and not black-and-white everyone (especially the teenagers who are “the nerd” and “the popular guy” but also so much more). It tackles lots of important topics like sexuality, suicide, pursuing your dreams, pregnancy, bullying, abuse.

Oh and yes, because of the aliens there is a sci-fi part to it. I actually really enjoyed that it wasn’t so much in the foreground and didn’t take up so much of the plot, that’s quite unique! And the chapters about how the world could end in a dozen different ways may have given me paranoia for life but it was so interesting!

I feel like We Are the Ants has a super strong beginning and end – especially the ending. I loved reading that so much and it’s such a good quote and yeah.
So if you need a bit of nihilism, teenage problems and sci-fi, this is the thing for you.

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

SECOND READ APRIL 2017

To be honest, I have nothing to add to my review below. I still love this book as much as I did last year and it still moves me deeply. I wish I could read more about all of them RIGHT NOW. Such an amazing book. I’m still a bit in shock maybe.

FIRST READ APRIL 2016

If I were able to give this book six stars, I would. I loved Raven Boys, Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue very much, but seriously, Raven King is even better than those three books. I can’t really pinpoint in which way I liked it more, but I think it has mostly to do with the writing.

Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is amazing in general and I enjoy reading her books so much but in this book, she used even more repetitive sentences and ways to begin a chapter and I find that incredibly intriguing. And her descriptions of dreams/other weird sequences I don’t want to spoil here are just so great. I could reread them all day.

And how casually but incredibly deeply people fall in love in her books… damn. In one moment they are just sitting there, then they are kissing, then they are sitting there again and I’m losing my mind. It’s so perfect.

I have no idea how to talk about this book without spoiling anything so I won’t say much about the plot, or rather, nothing.

From the beginning I hoped it would do justice to ALL the characters and of course I wanted them to be happy and was scared some of the things I hoped for wouldn’t happen and in the end I’m so so happy with it. The Raven King exceeded ALL my expectations, for sure.

I wish I could read more about all those not so big characters, the ones we don’t have in the epilogue (otherwise that epilogue would be endless) but I guess we can’t have all the things.

I was surprised to see new characters being introduced that played crucial parts even though it’s the last book and I definitely didn’t expect Henry Cheng playing such a big role. I like Henry a lot and I’m glad he became friends with the boys and Blue. All the scenes with him are hilarious.

There were quite a few hilarious scenes and jokes in this book but don’t worry, I did cry.

Okay, no I have to stop before I either want to reread the whole book right way (ain’t nobody got time for that) or tell you the whole plot.

(It’s just SUCH AN AMAZING BOOK)

The Rest

A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1)A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a great read! I’m struggling a bit because I do feel like giving it 5 stars but then again I wasn’t so captivated by everything and so moved or anything like that. And the beginning wasn’t sooo amazing and it was a bit predictable. I think I have to stick with 4 stars. I have the feeling this might change with a re-read so let’s see. IT’S STILL A GREAT BOOK!

V. E. Schwab’s writing is incredible! I heard this before and damn, I just really love it. It feels brisk and close to the action but you still get to learn so much about the world we’re in. Or the several worlds.
The idea of several Londons that are all similar but definitely not the same and that there are these parallel universes and you can only cross them with loads of magic is so cool??? I need more of that! Every time Lila or Kell describe the differences, no matter if they are huge or subtle, I was going “!!!! need to experience”. It was so well described.

The plot is so full of darkness and magic and stabbing people. I totally love dark things and characters that aren’t 100% good, I totally have a soft spot for thieves and murderers, and this book has such great characters that fit into that category!
Lila is amazing. I love her. I want to marry her apart from the fact that I’m way too romantic and soft for her. She’s badass. She should totally conquer the world.
Kell is amazing too! He is so special and kinda pretty soft but has to do so many hard and bad things and he loves his brother so much and he wants to belong. Aww. After all the things that happened in this book someone should really sit him down, wrap him in a blanket and hand him some tea. He doesn’t deserve all this horribleness.

The comebacks and sassy comments Lila and Kell (and Rhys sometimes) make are so great and on point!
And the relationship and trust Lila and Kell are slowly forming ❤

Really, I love the darkness and the magic and the plot is really interesting and I just generally liked the story quite a lot. I have no idea how you get two more books from that plot but I’ll see.

The Prose EddaThe Prose Edda by Snorri Sturluson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There is not so much to say about this. I enjoyed finally reading the “original” of the Norse myths that I had read before in dozens of different versions. The Edda also gives you a huge insight in medieval Scandinavia, you learn a lot about their lives, beliefs and language.
View all my reviews

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

