books of the month: march 2017

I read so many books in March! And because I’m bad at keeping track and remembering things here are some numbers: I read seven books in January, three in February and nine in March which adds up to 19 of the 50 books in my Goodreads Reading Challenge already gone. Wow. I didn’t expect to read this much, honestly, but I’m so very happy I have read all these amazing books.

The Best

Milk and HoneyMilk and Honey by Rupi Kaur
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book is incredible. I got it like three hours ago and read it immediately in one go. The more poetry I read the more I come to love and appreciate it!

Rupi Kaur’s poems are so personal and honest and I felt like each word flew directly into my heart and stabbed it with tiny daggers. The first part of Milk and Honey – the hurting – is really hard to read as it deals with sexual abuse but it’s so well written and such an important topic. The other three chapters – the loving, the breaking, the healing – are easier but also so extremely personal and close and beautiful.

I really love her writing and I’m so in love with these poems!

Radio SilenceRadio Silence by Alice Oseman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book! Why have so few people read this, it’s incredible!!!

I was looking for a birthday present for a friend, I knew it should be a book, something YA or contemporary with diversity, and found this somehow, read the reviews, bought it, read it and !!!!!

First of all, diversity!!! There are characters from all sorts of ways of lives, there are racially diverse people, single mums (they really don’t appear that often tbh), different sexualities, mentions of an agender character, someone on the ace-spectrum (!!!) and more. It’s just great. I love it so much that someone writes more about characters like that and I really wish more books were like this one.

The characters are great, honestly. So real and honest and well-written and fun and complicated and RELATABLE! And not just relatable to a single group of people but various ones because PEOPLE ARE COMPLEX! Ahhh, I really felt like I could relate to all of the main characters in one way or another.

I love the writing as well! It’s good and sometimes just so fun to read and sometimes heart-wrenching and sad but still, it’s relatable and the comments and puns and jokes are perfect.

The plot is amazing and such an original idea and I totally got sucked into it all and had all the feelings about all the characters. I want everyone to be happy, please. PLEASE.
Universe City is the most interesting idea for a podcast ever and I would like to listen to it, please. It

The friendship between Aled and Frances is so pure and beautiful and I’m so happy, this is such a great portrayal of a platonic relationship!!!

At some point the whole thing with the podcast gets big and there is hatemail and stuff like that and this also felt SO REAL. I mean, THIS is how tumblr and twitter and sites like that are, THIS is when fandoms turn ugly! And it’s certainly important to talk about that!

Okay, let’s stop with the gushing but just let me say one last time how relatable and real this book is???!!! Okay, bye now.

What's a Girl Gotta Do? (The Spinster Club, #3)What’s a Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a great read! “What’s a Girl Gotta Do?” might be my favourite book of the Spinster Club trilogy. No, actually I’m pretty sure it is my favourite one.

This book is mostly about Lottie, a student who is trying to get into a great university and who is also a feminist who wants to DO STUFF and educate people. She and her friends Evie and Amber set up their Spinster Club in Book #1 and now they formed a FemSoc at their school. Lottie has an incident that shocks her quite a bit and decides she wants to do a feminism project where she has to call out every sexist thing she sees.
Lots of things go wrong and lots of things also go right and in all this trouble it is showed quite realistically how much sexism there is everywhere around us and how people react to that. From students to teachers to parents.

I don’t think I learned so much about feminism itself (apart from cognitive dissonance, that was a really interesting point and something I will definitely have to think about more) but about sexism and even more so activism. Lottie goes through a lot and she is not the unrealistic hero that can go through everything without getting hurt or scared or having doubts.

I like that there is the character of Will who doesn’t agree with Lottie (at all) because he brings up some points that actual people really have. And Lottie argues with him and educates him.

There is also mention of abuse and a few other things that are just really, really important and I’m glad this book is bringing this up so much. The only thing I’m really missing is intersectional feminism. It is all very white, cishet. Holly Bourne actually mentions something like this in her author’s note and says she didn’t manage to include everything. I wish she made a bit more of an effort but okay, it’s still a good book.

I actually feel quite empowered by reading this book which is ALWAYS a great sign. I hope this inspires more people to say something about sexism or something like that.

Also, the style of the book is just great. It’s fun and quick to read and the characters are not that one-sided. I’m really glad I read this!

Let Them Eat ChaosLet Them Eat Chaos by Kate Tempest
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another poetry book, I know.

I have never read a Kate Tempest book before but I have seen several people talking about her so I thought I give it a go. Good decision!!!

Kate Tempest writes about seven people living in London, all living on the same street, all having different stories and problems that keep them from sleeping. We learn about all these stories and thoughts and in the end, those people meet outside during a storm.

She – or the characters – criticise London, society, capitalism, and so much more and that’s GREAT. I love reading stuff like that! This book certainly made me gasp sometimes.

I love how the poem is displayed! I think it’s hard to describe but you really have to jump around on the page and the text is always on different sides and that is really cool.

I really enjoyed reading this, I just wish it was a bit longer because I feel like there could have been more about the meeting on the street.

The MothersThe Mothers by Brit Bennett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Mothers is a story about life, love, friendships and so much more. It’s about Nadia and Luke and Aubrey who are lovers or friends or both. Their lives intertwine constantly, and their secrets shape the relationships between them. We see their lives evolve from teenagers to adults and I think my favourite part of the book were the characters’ relationships. Aubrey and Nadia’s friendship was so beautifully written and felt so real and tangible to me.

I loved Bennett’s writing, in general, a lot. It was gripping and wonderful and interesting. The only place where I didn’t quite get it was when the Mothers were the narrators. The Mothers are old women in the community of Upper Room (a church) who have their own thoughts on everything in the story, on everything that happens to Nadia and Luke and Aubrey and their families. I love the idea of having them as narrators and I do feel like they made some great points and were a lovely addition but sometimes I took me a while to understand what they meant or that this chapter was in fact from their perspective. I don’t know, they didn’t always work for me.

The main characters as well as everyone around them encounter some quite dramatic events, and this includes abortions, racism, death, injury, betrayal and sexual abuse. Especially in those moments, Bennett’s writing was brilliant. So sharp and sudden and just generally great.

I was quite dissatisfied with the ending but not because it was bad, it just wasn’t what I had wished for. That doesn’t really change much about my opinion on this book, though, the Mothers is still great and I’d definitely recommend it.

Three re-reads that all are amazing books:

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

SECOND READ 2017:

As you can read below it took me a while to get into Raven Boys when I first read it almost exactly a year ago. This time, though, I could finally appreciate this book’s beauty from the start. Honestly, I loved re-reading this book so much, it made me so happy and I really fell in love again with both the incredible writing and the protagonists.
I also want to continue with Dream Thieves immediately! (I won’t though, I already started another book I should finish first.)

Continue

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

SECOND READ MARCH 2017:

What can I even say here? I love all the characters even more and I want them all to be happy. I have so many feelings for all of them and I just wish Ronan and Adam and Gansey would talk more and get along better and BE HAPPY. Argh.

I think I now like Mr. Gray more than I did before! I’m also so happy Maura and the women in 300 Fox Way have more plot.
But generally I really, really love this book and I appreciate the writing so much more now for some reason. It’s just incredible.

Continue

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

SECOND READ MARCH 2017

Is there anything to add? I love this book to pieces, I love all the characters, I love the writing and I can definitely appreciate some bits way more now that I know what’s going to happen and can concentrate on other things.

I’m incredibly fascinated by the dynamics and relationships between the characters, especially in groups like the women in 300 Fox Way and the Raven Boys + Blue and Blue + Mr. Gray and so on. It’s so interesting for me to see how they interact and how important they all are to each other!

Continue

The Rest

Tales from the Shadowhunter AcademyTales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m not 100% sure what to think about this book.

I liked some stories a lot but some I disliked quite a bit or found them pretty boring.
The last two stories were very good, super adorable and heart-wrenching, full of tears and laughter and cuteness and just generally lots of emotions. But in a way, some of the previous stories felt a bit like a built-up for those later ones. I also wish the focus would have been more on the whole academy and not just a few selected characters that interacted loads with Simon. We barely got any names for characters not in the main focus and we also don’t learn a lot about what they actually learn at the academy or even what their subjects and teachers are called!

What I liked were the references to various characters from Lady Midnight and that story line as well as all the call-backs to the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices. I loved the flashbacks to Tessa’s life and that of the Herondales.

And finally we learn something about Ascension!
I also really like Catarina Loss, she should totally appear in more storylines and sass and call out people on everything.

View all my reviews


Feel free to hit me up with recommendations or opinions on all the books I read this month!

See you soon ❤

One thought on “books of the month: march 2017

Leave a Reply

