books of the month: february 2017

So, I didn’t read as much this month as in January, mostly because it took me ages to finish Here I Am and am away a lot so I don’t have quite as much time but there is still something to talk about!

The Best

Bad FeministBad Feminist by Roxane Gay
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book! I wanted to read Bad Feminist for a long time but I never got around to buying it but now I finally did and I am SO GLAD! Honestly, this book thought me a lot and made me think about many things. Oh, and it made me very sad too because in what kind of fucked up world do we actually live??

Anyway.

Bad Feminist is a book on feminism, race, America, Roxane Gay’s life and how all of those things have to do with each other. It is written in the form of essays, some shorter, some long, and in those Roxane Gay often takes books and films and quotes people (often politicians and celebrities) have said apart to show how shit / problematic / racist / sexist / etc. those actually are.

I definitely read a lot of things in this book I never thought about, especially about certain books and films that I know about or watched and enjoyed. I am so glad that Roxane spends so much time talking about race and how white and not intersectional feminism often is!

I now really wonder what Roxane would think about all the horrible events that happened in the last two years or so (since the book was published) but then again it would probably make me even sader.

Not everything about the book was sad and hard to read though, Roxane’s writing is just great and she is funny and honest and interesting! And also quite relatable with everything she says about being a “bad feminist”.

I really want to recommend this book to everyone, especially those who want to know more about feminism or who should know more about it.

The Rest

The ABC's of Lgbt+The ABC’s of Lgbt+ by Ashley Mardell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a book about lots of LBGT* terms, gender identities, sexual identities, etc. All these terms are explained and there are examples and stories from people who identify with these terms.

It was so nice to read a book about not just the most known terms like bisexual and gay but all the other terms that aren’t talked about a lot but that are just as valid.
I loved the tiny, adorable illustrations and the super interesting stories made by so many different people!

You can totally notice that a lot of research went into this book and that Ashley made an effort to include even conflicting and maybe problematic things. You also get the feeling of this great community with pictures of the contributors and introductions of the editors!

It really is a fun and interesting book to read and I’m glad I read it and could learn so much more about the LGBT* community!

Here I AmHere I Am by Jonathan Safran Foer
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Honestly, my thoughts about this book are so confusing and all over the place I don’t really know what I can say about it.
I don’t read fiction often and every time I do I notice why. Because the books are often rather complicated, complex and written in a way that takes me longer to read and longer to understand. This one here is really good at being super complicated and complex.

You have this family, the Blochs, and this book is basically about all of them. The three boys, their parents (mostly their parents), their grandparents and their great-grandfather. The narrative is jumping back and forth decades in the middle of conversations just to tell you about this one scene and a few pages later you’ll continue in the conversation and lots of stuff like that. That took some time for me to get used to.
I also had to get used to the characters. They aren’t incredibly likeable but they do feel real. They feel complex and have complex feelings and I just love it when characters aren’t one-sided and boring. BUT, especially with the kids, I felt like the book tries too hard. Twelve year old aren’t so wise and complex and intelligent. They don’t know all those things. A lot of the conversations of Max, Sam and Billie were really not my cup of tea. I couldn’t shake the feeling that this doesn’t feel right at all.
The conversation the whole family has all the time are hilarious though. I love the arguing and how everyone is actually talking about a different thing and oh, it’s so fun to read!

I also think I got to know a lot about Jewish traditions, customs, words, legacies, about Israel. That was really interesting!

The plot was honestly so out of the blue. I expected way more of the book to be about the actual event that happens and the war that follows but until like mid-way into the book nothing of that comes up and when it does it’s still not that important. And the whole war thing and how that came to be seems a bit…odd to me. And rushed.

Apart from all the weird things there were some great quotes in there and scenes that made me think and that I will remember a lot.

I still can’t quite bring myself to giving it 4 stars though. Maybe that’s my punishment for ending the book with THAT SCENE. That’s just cruel. Too cruel. Ahem.

View all my reviews


What did you read this month?

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

