books of the month: january 2017

For ages I have wondered if I should share every book I read or just my favourites and now I’m settling on something in between. Over the last year I have written a few book rec posts but I always forget to do them or I don’t include all the books I would like to include so whatever, here you have all the books I’ve read in January 2017.

It’s more than I imagined, I already read 7 books this year and I rated all of them 4 or 5 stars, wow! So even putting them in the categories “best” and “rest” wasn’t really useful but I did it anyway.

THE BEST

AmericanahAmericanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Where do I start? I don’t read Fiction often because it either doesn’t interest me or it looks very pretentious to me but I watched Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s amazing TedTalk on why we all should be feminists. Check it out! And then I googled her and found this book and now I’ve read it and ohhhh, I have learned so much!

Even though the writing wasn’t my cup of tea 100% of the time and some paragraphs were just so weird, I really enjoyed reading Americanah. I was hooked from the beginning and didn’t really want to put it down for long.

It also really wasn’t what I expected it to be. I thought the focus would be much more on Ifem and Obinze’s love story and that it all would take place only over a couple of years but in fact we learn a lot about both of their lives over many, many years. Both people move abroad and back, both have several partners, both have to face a lot of shit and a lot of good things and it takes a long time until we see them together again.
The chapters jump a bit back and forth between “now” and the years before and that’s sometimes a bit confusing but also very interesting because you can really see how both Ifem and Obinze have developed and changed and what they still think about many years after it has happened.

Also, Ifem is a blogger! And many of her blog posts or parts of them appear in the book! I really like that, her blog posts are great and in my opinion almost the best parts of the book.

I think I learned a lot about race, racism, Nigeria, immigration and all of those things in the US and Britain. Honestly, this really is a book about so many things I’ve never read about before or at least not in so much detail. Just because of that I want to give it 5 stars. I was often in shock about how racist people actually are and how different some countries in certain things are.

I really loved learning so much and I enjoyed the characters too! Both Ifem and Obinze are definitely flawed and they say and do things I don’t like but it really just makes them more believable.

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

WHAT EVEN! I don’t know what to say! Do you know how much I loved Six of Crows last year? Do you know how badly I wanted to read Crooked Kingdom the second I finished the other book? SO MUCH. But I didn’t cause I hoped I would get the book for Christmas (which I didn’t, aka I’m disappointed in everyone) but now I bought it and read it immediately and ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh the feels.

Ahem, anyway, where do I begin?
One of the things I’ve loved most about Six of Crows are the different cultures and how everyone has these different backgrounds and stories and you have different languages and beliefs and all that and in this book it all is woven together and it’s perfect. In Crooked Kingdom this happened again and I think we got to know so much more about Ketterdam itself (I mean, most of Six of Crows wasn’t in Ketterdam but basically all of Crooked Kingdom is there) and about the people living there.

Even though all of the main characters were introduced in Six of Crows we got a lot of flashbacks to scenes that made them who they are now and that’s really cool. I always want to know more about the characters, especially if you can sense some amazing character developement and BOY WE HAD A LOT OF THAT!
Mostly for Wylan and Jesper I think which is BEAUTIFUL and I’m so glad all the things that happened to them happened (no spoilers here) but Matthias too continued to fight with what he learned so many years and what he then witnessed with his friends and ahhhh it warmed my heart, honestly. It’s not his fault how he has been trained and he’s fighting so hard to figure out what’s right and awww. Kaz is obviously always fighting with his dark dark past and we learned some more about the bad stuff he did and also OHHH the bad things he did in this book, wow, he got even darker! (not complaining). Inej also has some fights with her past which is totally understandable and I really loved how she and Kaz talked or not talked but at least understood these things about each other. I wish we could have gotten a bit more than that tbh.
And Nina, oh I love this girl! Her love for waffles and everything sweet gives me life and I think we could talk a lot about food together! She had to deal with the consequenzes of parem and I was very worried for her and she is now a tiny bit creepier than before but still DAMN BADASS!

Speaking of characters and their relationships… there still is a lot of shipping and heartwarming stuff and innoendos or bad jokes and FLIRTING and oh dear…
Matthias + Nina = my heart + stab me
Wylan + Jesper = my heart + stab me again
Inej + Kaz = stab me some more

THE PLOT! Man, this book was gripping af. I love schemes and plotting and backup plans and things falling into place perfectly and ahhh we got so much of Kaz’s amazing schemes and no matter what happened he found another plan and another and IT WAS SO GOOD!
Honestly, I’d love to read just three more books of all the heists and plans Kaz made in his past. I live for this stuff. I also loved that even though we still had this plotting stuff and all that it was a very different plot from Six of Crows. In this one we had ONE main plot that took up most of the book and here we had so many and halfway into the book I was still wondering “with what will it end? where exactly is this going?” and I loved that so much!

I think Crooked Kingdom is a lot darker than Six of Crows and I don’t mind that at all! Honestly, I love this book with all my heart and I think the characters are going to wander around in my mind for ages.
Currently my mind is empty and full of pain (not gonna say why, spoilers), I need to take a break, bye.

A Monster CallsA Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

TELL ME HOW TO TALK ABOUT THIS BOOK WITHOUT STARTING TO CRY AGAIN?!

Honestly. Wow. I knew I loved Patrick Ness a while ago, I read More Than This and The Rest of Us Just Live Here and adored them, I follow him on Twitter and love his tweets and I watched BBC’s Class. I really like this guy. And now I love and hate him even more.
Really, this book is heartbreaking. If you don’t like books that tear your heart out, stab it and throw it in your face, don’t read it. (Or do, cause honestly, you have no idea what you’re missing out on.)

Conor is a thirteen year old boy who gets a weird visitor at night, a monster. But Conor is not a hero, the monster is not there to be slayn and the stories the monster tells are far from fairytales. And Conor’s life is quite fucked up too and both things have more to do with each other than you would think.

It is a short book. You could probably read it in a day but because of work I couldn’t do that. And I’m quite glad, actually, because it is a very sad book and I felt a bit more prepared like this.

There are some incredible quotes and scenes and metaphors in A Monster Calls and even though everything is written very shortly and without huge descriptions it comes across with so much meaning. I don’t know, I just really love it.

This only counts half because it’s a re-read but shhh:

The Rest of Us Just Live HereThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Honestly, I don’t know what to say here. I still love this book with all my heart, I love it just as much as when I first read it, it’s just SO GOOD!

I wrote a proper – and long af – review of this here, I just want to say again how much I love the whole idea of this book. I love how you have two stories going on, one in the background, one the “main stuff”. I love how this world is almost like ours but supernatural stuff is happening there quite often and people have learned to either live with it or just forgot about it.
I love the diversity of the characters. SO. MUCH. This is not a story about “a mentally ill kid” or “that gay kid” but a group of teenagers, a group of friends, who all have some shit going on.

The Rest Of Us Just Live Here is also quite inspirational. There are so many quotes in there that I want to remember forever and that I want to shout at anyone who is having a bad day.

“Not everyone has to be the Chosen One. Not everyone has to be the guy who saves the world. Most people just have to live their lives the best they can, doing the things that are great for them, having great friends, trying to make their lives better, loving people properly. All the while knowing that the world makes no sense but trying to find a way to be happy anyway.”

How amazing is that? Can I ingrave that in my head? That I don’t have to be the Chosen One and that it’s okay that the world makes no sense?

THE REST

Holding Up the UniverseHolding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Holding Up the Universe is great! I loved many things about it but I didn’t find it absolutely fantastic.

First of all, I noticed it because of the very aesthetic cover so please appreciate that.

I really love Jennifer Niven’s style. All the Bright Places was absolutely incredible and I knew this would be a great book. I also hoped it wouldn’t be as devestating as All the Bright Places and thankfully it wasn’t.
I think her writing is very beautiful, very descriptive, very romantic.

View the rest of the review

The Dark WifeThe Dark Wife by Sarah Diemer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ahhhh this book! This was a recommendation made by my best friend who forwarded the pdf to me (it’s a free book! read it!) and when they told me it involves Greek Mythology and wlw I was immediately a fan!

I’ve been loving mythology, and especially the greek one because it’s one of those I know most about (thank you Rick Riordan), for aaaaages.
And, as a wlw myself, I definitely love to read about girls being together, girls kissing, girls being happy together, all that stuff.

View the rest of the review

How Hard Can Love Be? (The Spinster Club, #2)How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was very reluctant do read this. I started reading the first 30 pages or so in November, then put it down and read other stuff, then read 20 pages and then put it down again. But yesterday I really started to read it and finished it quite quickly.

This is the second part in the Spinster Club series, after Am I Normal Yet? which I read a year ago and liked quite a lot (the books aren’t really connected plot-wise though, you could totally read them seperately).
And I feel like my thoughts on this book are quite similar to those on Am I Normal Yet.

View the rest of the review


What books have you read so far? Any recommendations?

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

