Top 10 Books of 2016

To everyone’s (including my own) surprise I read way more books this year than last – 55 (so far) compared to 33. Lots of them were incredible and just like last year I wanted to share my ten favourites with you.

Maybe you are inspired to read them or you can recommend me some similar books?

All of these books I gave five stars on Goodreads and all of them I love very, very much. Some of them were published years earlier, some are brand new, there are some different genres, and so on. I do think my taste is quite diversified…


The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #1)The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I absolutely adore this book. The first time I heard Rick Riordan was writing a book about Norse Mythology I literally screamed “YES, FINALLY, SIGN ME UP”. I love mythology in general a lot, especially all of Rick Riordan’s books, but the Norse was the first I ever got into and I know more than a sane amount about it.

I was very excited to get back to this really fun style of writing. Whatever Rick Riordan writes, I usually enjoy reading it immensely and I did that too this time. There are a lot of jokes, puns (I’m a huge fan of those), pop culture references to Doctor Who or Game of Thrones and of course the ever amazing chapter titles.

There is also a great diversity among the characters…

Full review here

It's Kind of a Funny StoryIt’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I wanted to read this book for quite a while. My best friend wrote a review of it ages ago and back then I made a little note in my mind to buy it at some point. I forgot to do so for a long time but last November I saw it in a bookshelf in London and remembered it and bought it. Now I had time to read it and I’m glad I did.

Craig goes to this very high level and hard to get into high school in New York. He’s fifteen and has problems with all the stress he gets from school. He has a therapist but he gets worse and worse and at some point he feels like killing himself but he calls a suicide hotline instead and admits himself to a hospital…

Full review here

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is going to be one hell of a review. I have a million thoughts about this book and Cassandra Clare’s books in general – things I realized while reading Lady Midnight – and I really want to write a lot about it.

I enjoyed reading Lady Midnight a lot. And in some way I like it more than City of Bones or Clockwork Angel as a first book of a series and I’m having a hard time to explain why. All of those books are amazing, but in Lady Midnight many stories we already know about from The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices are coming together. People cross over, drop by, stories we already know about are mentioned and that in a much bigger way than it was possible for City of Bones or Clockwork Angel because back then we didn’t have all those connections. I don’t know if this makes any sense, but this is one of the reasons reading Lady Midnight felt a bit different to me. And I liked that a lot…

Full review here

FangirlFangirl by Rainbow Rowell
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really love this book. I have wanted to read it for a long time and I was close to ordering it from Amazon or buying it in a bookstore quite a few times but I never did because something held me off. Mostly people who told me I could borrow it from them but I never did. And last Sunday I finally borrowed it from my girlfriend and only a few days later I started reading it – which is something that does NOT happen often – and now I’m finished.
Already.
I usually don’t have time to read this fast but I did. And I’m really happy with that.

Fangirl is a great book, really….

Full review here

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Okay, my best friend urged me to read this book when she first did and I bought it shortly (I think) afterwards. It took me a while to get to read it because my TBR pile is rather huge.
I had quite high expectations for the book because people on my tumblr dashboard and my best friend and people I follow on Goodreads talked about it loads and they all seemed to be obsessed with it.

At first I wasn’t. But it changed.

The first few chapters or maybe even the first hundred pages of the book were rather slow in my opinion. Or not even slow, but I found it difficult to actually get into the story and to like the characters and connect with them….

Full review here

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Instead of reading this book faster than I thought I could during a work week I really should have studied but OHMYGOD IT’S SO GOOD!

I read the first (or maybe even the first two) of Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy many years ago. Like, so many years ago that I a) read it in German and b) don’t remember ANYTHING about the plot. I don’t even know the main characters names, only a bit about Ravka and the Grisha.
So, I saw people talking about it on tumblr and Goodreads and thought “come on, you really liked the universe the other books play in, you should buy it” and then I did and almost immediately started reading it.
From the first page on I knew I’d love it. (Because there are TWO maps and I love books with maps)…

Full review here

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1)Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I first saw this beautiful, beautiful book cover I already knew I would buy it, no matter what the plot is about. Then I saw it has something to do with aliens and politics and I bought it right away. And Sleeping Giants clearly hasn’t disappointed me. I would go so far and say this one will be in my Top 10 books of 2016.

I have come to love books that are written in interview transcrips and mission logs or diary entries. I wish I knew more of those because if they are as amazingly written as Sleeping Gians or Illuminae nothing can stop me from sucking all the words in within a week and then trying to convince all my friends to read it as well.
It’s a really interesting way of telling a story. You have to be able to understand the emotions of people without having many discriptions of how they are saying stuff or what they look like when they do. I guess it’s challenging for the author but for me it’s really fun to read…

Full review here

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible ThingsFuriously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

THIS BOOK MADE ME FEEL SO MANY FEELS!
And I love it when books do that. This time not only super happy feelings but that’s totally okay.

Jenny Lawson aka The Bloggess writes about her life, her mental illnesses and how she deals with them. Her book is incredibly fun AND really sad at times.
She is very honest and talks about the shit stuff that’s going on but also the good stuff. She talks about her first book tour, her parents, the arguments with her husband, how she feels about being a parent and traveling and so much more…

Full review here

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)Illuminae by Amie Kaufman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Guys, where do I start?
Let me get this straight: I love this book with all my heart and I want you all to read it. Go buy or borrow it from someone right now!

Recently I wanted to find some really good and especially interesting books and I found this one in my to-read shelf and on second thought it sounded even more interesting than I initially thought and I bought it instantly.
When I received it I noticed for the first time that it’s not written like other books, not in the POV of one or multiple persons, not really. Illuminae is written in the form of security camera transcripts, instant messages, mails, reports, and thoughts from the core of an Artificial Intelligence called AIDAN and more! There are even plans of the space ships which is basically THE BEST THING EVER cause who doesn’t love space ships?…

Full review here

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Before I begin: look at this cover. Doesn’t it already scream at you “READ MEEE!!”? It did that for me. And I was not disappointed from what’s beneath the cover.

On someone’s blog (probably Cait’s, I’m pretty sure it was Cait’s) I read a review of it and got very interested because
a) THAT COVER and
b) ohhhh Shahrzad and 1001 nights or whatever that’s called in English, THAT’S SO COOL I LOVE THIS STORY SO MUCH IT’S MY CHILDHOOD.
Ahem.
Also, I love diverse books, generally everything that has to do with Persian culture and all that stuff and ohhhh….

Full review here


What were your favourite books of the year? When I look at my list 2016 doesn’t seem so bad after all.

See you soon ❤

One thought on “Top 10 Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

