Furiously Happy, Every Day – BookRec #5

I know I basically just posted BookRec #4. I swear I’m just reading too many amazing books this year.

Both of those books are really amazing. Furiously Happy made me feel so many things and I had such fun reading it (but also learned a lot and it made me think) and Every Day was just so lovely to read.


Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible ThingsFuriously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

THIS BOOK MADE ME FEEL SO MANY FEELS!
And I love it when books do that. This time not only super happy feelings but that’s totally okay.

Jenny Lawson aka The Bloggess writes about her life, her mental illnesses and how she deals with them. Her book is incredibly fun AND really sad at times.
She is very honest and talks about the shit stuff that’s going on but also the good stuff. She talks about her first book tour, her parents, the arguments with her husband, how she feels about being a parent and traveling and so much more.

At first I was really surprised that “A funny book about horrible things” actually works really well. I laughed a lot reading Furiously Happy and just because of that I’d give this book 5 stars. Seriously, I’m the kind of person that often kind of hides their emotions while reading (I just do, maybe I don’t want people to see me look sad into my book or burst out laughing) but I laughed SO MUCH when reading this book I was very pleasantly surprised.

Jenny Lawson interacts a lot with the reader, talks directly to you, and I can really imagine her sitting there writing those pages and wondering if we appreciate her amazing puns (of course we do, of course).

Some of the chapters are harder to read because Jenny talks about her depression and anxiety and how she deals with self harm. I found it really important to read though and although I had tears in my eyes a few times – especially during the last few pages of the book – I found myself lucky to read this, to feel inspired and thoughtful.
I feel like I learned something from her and I want to remember the fun things and the mantras and the reasons I’m okay the way I am forever.
I also really want to send this book to a lot of people because I’m sure it would be good for them to read it.

Also, please let someone give me a koala costume for my brithday, thanks.

By the way, Jenny Lawson has an AMAZING blog, you should totally check her out. I love reading her stories.


Every Day (Every Day, #1)Every Day by David Levithan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love David Levithan’s books a lot and I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of his writing. Whenever I open a new (to me) or old (to me) book of his it feels like I’m coming back to something familiar, something homely.

Even though Every Day has so many different characters, different places, different events playing out, I felt like I got dozens of well-written glances on a lot of people’s life. Maybe I was with them for just a few pages but I learned a lot about them and about how A is adapting to those lives.

A leads such an extraordinary life and this story captures only a small part of it but you still learn so much about them (I don’t want to think of A as a boy or a girl). And you learn about so many people whose lives A touched, just for a day. They are interesting, diverse, each so different from the other and I loved meeting them all. I loved seeing A trying to figure everything out and I loved how much A learned about people, about our society, about how we live and act and what kind of relationships we have throughout A’s life.

BUT I’m definitely not a huge fan of all of A’s actions, neither of Rhiannon’s. I’m glad they ended things the way they ended them.

View all my reviews


Please tell me what you think!

See you soon ❤

One thought on “Furiously Happy, Every Day – BookRec #5

Leave a Reply

