(…unless I’m forgetting something but I don’t think so.)


I’m reading more books this year than I thought I would and lots of them are seriously amazing. In the past I wrote (I think) three blog posts about books I would recommend to everyone out there and I decided to make it a thing.

Well, I guess it already is a thing but I’m giving it a name/number.

I don’t think I’ll do these regularly but just whenever I have two or so books I really really love. I realized I haven’t written about the books I read since May which is a way too long time and then I saw that I have two books to hightly recommend that are very similar in some ways.

Both Sleeping Giants and Illuminae are written in the form of files. Files of interviews, chats, logs, and more. Those two books are the only books I ever read that are written like that and I so love it. They are so amazing and I was captured from start to finish. Both books are part of series, at least three books each as far as I know, Illuminae #2 (called Gemina) is coming out this October and Sleeping Giants #2 next year.

Illuminae is more sci-fi than Sleeping Giants, that one has more of political stuff and intrigues, Illuminae more of a dystopian vibe.

If that’s just SLIGHTLY your thing or you want to try out something new, please consider reading.


Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)Illuminae by Amie Kaufman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Guys, where do I start?
Let me get this straight: I love this book with all my heart and I want you all to read it. Go buy or borrow it from someone right now!

Recently I wanted to find some really good and especially interesting books and I found this one in my to-read shelf and on second thought it sounded even more interesting than I initially thought and I bought it instantly.
When I received it I noticed for the first time that it’s not written like other books, not in the POV of one or multiple persons, not really. Illuminae is written in the form of security camera transcripts, instant messages, mails, reports, and thoughts from the core of an Artificial Intelligence called AIDAN and more! There are even plans of the space ships which is basically THE BEST THING EVER cause who doesn’t love space ships?

Some of the pages – usually the ones from AIDAN’s POV – are so beautiful, there are photos from space, interesting typography, huge letters, tiny letters, sentences that drag over two pages in twirls and so on. It’s so uniquely beautiful, really.

I don’t think I can tell you much about the plot without giving anything away – and I really don’t want to give anything away because the plot twists really shocked me and made reading this book so incredibly captivating.

So there is this war between two huge corporations and one of those corporations is blowing the planet up on which Kady and Ezra live. They escape – with all the survivors – on three space ships called Copernicus, Alexander and Hypatia. The two teenagers get seperated, Kady is on Hypatia and Ezra on Alexander. The small fleet has to flee then because they are followed by the corporation’s huge war space ship named Lincoln.

The story mostly follows Kady and Ezra, how they connect and how they don’t, what happens to them and all the other people on the ships and now things go south when this virus appears and the AI gets uncontrollable.

The people this story is about are so incredibly human in a way that makes it so different from other books. They swear, type in the shortest forms ever (“u kno, chum”, things like that), make typos (!!!), are sarcastic, make stupid jokes (“your mamma” included) , flirt sometimes (in the cheesiest ways possible), make decision that are flawed but for them seem to be the right ones. They make mistakes but they do it because they have their beliefs. Some are selfish, some are selfless, some are just really trying to survive, some just follow their orders.

Even thought we don’t have long descriptions of the feelings the characters in Illuminae have we get to understand them and we see that they are so different from each other, but not different from us. I find it striking how so little description, how little that is not conversation, still makes all of them so complex and unique.
This is also the case for AIDAN. AIDAN surprised me in many ways and I’m not going to get into those here but the AI actually undergoes some character development that I didn’t think possible and how cool is that?!

This book is filled with drama, horrible scenarios, death and disease and sometimes I was crying really hard but just twenty pages afterwards I was snorting because of some stupid pun or “aww”-ing because of Kady and Ezra’s stupid teenage love drama.
I absolutely adore it when books make me feel a lot and when they make me feel such different things.

I want to re-read it right now because I enjoyed reading it so much.

There are so many other points I want to mention, like the fact that they talk a lot about PTSD and the trauma all those people went through or that I’m really happy so many of those Generals and other important people are women but then I’d sit here until tomorrow morning.

Just go read it and talk to me afterwards.


Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1)Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I first saw this beautiful, beautiful book cover I already knew I would buy it, no matter what the plot is about. Then I saw it has something to do with aliens and politics and I bought it right away. And Sleeping Giants clearly hasn’t disappointed me. I would go so far and say this one will be in my Top 10 books of 2016.

I have come to love books that are written in interview transcripts and mission logs or diary entries. I wish I knew more of those because if they are as amazingly written as Sleeping Giants or Illuminae nothing can stop me from sucking all the words in within a week and then trying to convince all my friends to read it as well.
It’s a really interesting way of telling a story. You have to be able to understand the emotions of people without having many descriptions of how they are saying stuff or what they look like when they do. I guess it’s challenging for the author but for me it’s really fun to read.

Sleeping Giants has plot twists – huge ones, especially that one in the middle and then at the end of the story – and complex plans and intrigues. It has parties that don’t stay the same, alliances that are made and broken-up. And between all those things you have amazing characters with their own believes, their very own characteristics and dramas.

Oh, and there’s the alien part. I think everything that has to do with the artifact and what they find out about it is described very detailed. You really get to know HOW people are investigating and to what conclusions they come and I can’t wait to read more about this spacey stuff in the next book!

View all my reviews


I hope you like, or even love, those books as well.

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

