As I promised you Sunday, here are all my thoughts on Christopher Street Day on Saturday.

Previous blogposts:

I already said on Sunday that I went to CSD with my girlfriend and two close friends. One of those friends was going to participate in the parade with a group and we would meet up during the parade and join him. And we did just that.

We were relatively early because we didn’t want to miss anything and sat on the curb, waiting for the parade to begin and reach us while observing the people around us (and this one totally adorable puppy). At least that’s what I did. Whenever I sit or stand somewhere for more than just a minute I tend to look around and observe. People are just really interesting and many are just so damn pretty – I can’t help it.

I knew from last year what a happy place Pride can be and how much of a party it is. This year I felt even more involved, even more part of the community, and I loved to see those people that are sometimes so stereotypically gay or totally the opposite.

Yes, I did say “Oh my god, that one is so gay” approximately one hundred times that day and it’s so true. Everyone was so gay (or lesbian, bi, asexual, trans, queer), it was beautiful. It warmed my heart to see so many same sex couples walking around, holding hands, not having to fear to be too visible or getting weird looks or something like that. Among those were also older same sex couples and I wondered what their stories are. How was it to be gay 30 years ago? How were they able to be proud back then? Surely they must look at us, the much younger generations, and think “oh, they have it so much better than we did back then”. That’s so bittersweet.

It also makes me think of all those horrible events the LGBTQ community went through before. Reminders of those sad where all over the place, Orlando was a topic various times as well as the shit rights for our community in some countries of the world and the injustices many of us have to face daily.

(P.S.: as I already added so many of my own photos in my last post I thought I’d use the prettier, official ones from here in this post)

BUT there were groups celebrating and supporting LGBTQ refugees, rainbow families, intersex people, trans men and women and so many others. Generally there was such a huge amount of diversity. Of course, there could always be more and I’m a bit sad that apart from rainbow flags I only saw one for asexuality and one for transgender people but no other.

I don’t remember exactly how it was last year but I was surprised and happy about how many groups and organisations for mothers, fathers, rainbow families, older or disabled people in the LGBTQ community  exist and how present they were at the parade. It’s important to be inclusive and to show that it is possible for everyone to be proud.

This youth group of the Protestant church community was also there, handing out flyers and stickers, throwing confetti into the crowd and demonstrating that not all Christians are homophobes.

As I mentioned before we were walking in the parade at some point and I wanted to talk about that some more. When our friend appeared we all hugged and just joined his group and walked on. At the beginning I didn’t even think about how many people are actually there and can watch us or something like that. We walked through some smaller streets and had to wait for a while but then it went faster again and the streets got more crowded. There were SO many people at some places and they all cheered or just stood there, being happy and present. It was such a cool feeling to see how many people actually came to be proud, to wave their rainbow flags.

We walked through the “gay quarter” of Munich where rainbow flags were hanging from many houses and this one supermarket had a sign reading “#RESPECT” (the motto of this year’s CSD) beneath its name and the staff was handing out water bottles to the people participating in the parade! How nice is that? (It was very hot, especially between the houses when you had to wait for the parade to move on.)

While walking through those really crowded places I felt a bit scared for a minute because there were so many people watching us and for someone who is introverted and often anxious that isn’t a very comfortable place to be in. But the crowd wasn’t scary. Everyone was lovely, cheering, happy and I just held onto my girlfriend’s hand and walked on.

Look at all those people:

So, this was also a really empowering moment. It made me realize again and again how much I care for this community and how important LGBTQ rights are, how important it is to fight for them and that I really do want to contribute to that in some (even really small) part.

I wish I had the time, motivation and energy to join one of those organisations and do some good. Maybe I can do that in the near future – I definitely hope so. Being involved is wonderful and I love it. I just need to find the right thing and then some courage.

Now, before I leave, let me remind you of the awesome slogan of CSD Munich 2016: “Diversity deserves respect. Limitless!”

I agree with that and I hope, the rest of the world will learn to do so too.

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

