Two both sad & funny books you should read

I actually wanted to finally finish my review of Captain America: Civil War today but as I can’t stop thinking about books today I thought I should write about books too.

In March I talked about Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys here and since then I read all three remaining books of her Raven Cycle and rated them 5/5 stars so I still think you all should read them immediately. But because that’s not exactly a new thing I want to show you two other books.

They are very different from each other but both made me laugh (because of GREAT humor and horrible puns) AND be sad, the first one because lots of people die and/or don’t get happy endings and the second one because of mental health stuff and stalking stuff and makes-me-kind-of-convinced-that-humanity-is-not-to-save stuff, so have fun reading my reviews.


Percy Jackson and the Greek HeroesPercy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love all of Rick Riordan’s books and those written in Percy Jackson’s POV have a special place in my heart. He’s so incredibly sarcastic and he adds all those references and jokes and puns, it’s glorious.

This book includes so many stories that have connections to each other or don’t, that you have heard of before or not and some of them play a role in Rick Riordan’s other books.

There were quite a few heroes I’ve never heard of before but that are pretty cool. Or horrible and gruesome. Or both. Anyway.

Even though history generally overlooks women, especially in those ancient times, there were some amazing heroines! I’m glad Rick added those too!

There’s not much to say, it’s just a really really good book. Super funny.

You're Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)You’re Never Weird on the Internet by Felicia Day

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really like Felicia Days but I never knew much about her live and what she does apart from being awesome and the few shows/videos/things I saw her in (Supernatural and Dr. Horrible). Now I have the feeling I know her much better and I have learnt a lot through her memoir.

Actually I’m not even a huge fan of memoirs. EVERYONE and their cat is writing one these days and most of them sound rather pretentious or arrogant so I choose carefully which I want to read.

Felicia’s book surprised me in many ways. She talks a lot about many different topics, starting with her childhood and ending with what she is doing right now and with each chapter you get to know another part of her life, another part of her personality.

She writes with a lot of humor, nerdiness, and cute photoshoped graphics. Her books is both incredibly fun to read and incredibly enlightening.
She does not only talk about her different jobs and her challenges in Hollywood or college but also about her personal challenges aka her anxiety and depression.
I did not know about her having to face those and I was very sad to hear about those long and horrible times she had to go through but glad to hear about her way out.

You also notice how sexist the film and gaming industry is which is definitely not a nice thing but it’s great to know there are people speaking up against it.

View all my reviews


Do you know/like those books? Do you have something similar to recommend?

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

