Recently I read Cassandra Clare’s new Shadowhunters book Lady Midnight, the first part of the Dark Artifices trilogy. I wrote a rather long review (without any spoilers) about it and included a lot of thoughts about Cassandra Clare’s books in general.

I thought maybe some of you might like to read that too 🙂


 

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is going to be one hell of a review. I have a million thoughts about this book and Cassandra Clare’s books in general – things I realized while reading Lady Midnight – and I really want to write a lot about it.

I enjoyed reading Lady Midnight a lot. And in some way I like it more than City of Bones or Clockwork Angel as a first book of a series and I’m having a hard time to explain why. All of those books are amazing, but in Lady Midnight many stories we already know about from The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices are coming together. People cross over, drop by, stories we already know about are mentioned and that in a much bigger way than it was possible for City of Bones or Clockwork Angel because back then we didn’t have all those connections. I don’t know if this makes any sense, but this is one of the reasons reading Lady Midnight felt a bit different to me. And I liked that a lot.

The characters are all very interesting and I feel like Cassie did a very good job in giving them all their own stories, their own character traits that make them so special and giving them their own smal plot lines. I hope this continues like this (or more) in book two and three because I liked it a lot and I think this is something I missed a bit during The Mortal Instruments.

Also, I was less annoyed with the characters than while reading TMI (especially City of Bones) which is a big plus. I get easily annoyed with certain plot devices and with the choices characters make. I’m definitely angry at some certain people at the end of the book, don’t get me wrong, (but I won’t tell you because I’m trying hard to keep this review spoiler-free), but not as much.

While reading Lady Midnight I noticed the huge diversity that Cassie tries to bring into her books – TMI too but The Dark Artifices even more. Racial diversity (colour of skin as well as Shadowworld races), sexualities (a huge plus for me, I might have cheered out loud when Mark said he’s bisexual), different ways of thinking or generally stuff that has to do with your mind and how different people can be concerning that (Ty, for example) and so on and so on.

The one thing plot/character wise I still don’t like much is the whole Emma/Julian thing. I have come to terms with it happening in a way but I’m slightly sick of the “falling in love with my best friend”-trope. Of course it’s especially hard for them because they are parabatai and that’s giving me a lot of pain because I hate how fucking abiding by the Law of the Clave everyone (well, clearly not everyone, but a lot of people) is. The Clave can go fuck itself in my opinion and I wish I could tell that a few of the characters in this book.

I also noticed that literally every couple Cassie wrote has a forbidden love theme. Clary and Jace because siblings for a while, Alec and Magnus because a) not straight and b) Downworlder, Aline and Helen because of the same thing, Isabelle and Simon are not much different, and another couple in Lady Midnight which I won’t spoil because this revelation made my day (but it’s also a painful thing – as always). I think that’s very interesting. Some of those stories I love so much and some I’m indifferent about. But that’s just me, I always have something to judge.

I love how much we got to know about all the characters that did not appear in Lady Midnight itself. For example Helen and Aline. I really need to read more about them because I love myself a lesbian couple and I want Helen to be okay, okay? Hopefully we see her at some point. I also really need to know more about Diana’s background and Cristina’s. I love Cristina a lot, she’s so amazing.

We also got to know a lot about Faeries. Not much good stuff but definitely interesting. The Cold Peace is a gruesome thing and I have another reason to hate the Clave.
I’m glad we met a lot of our old friends again! I didn’t think we would see them so much. It’s cool to see them through the eyes of other people and it’s interesting to see how their lives changed and evolved after we followed them through a few books. I really want to read more about Alec and Magnus and Clary and Jace and Tessa and Jem and many more.

I think I kind of fell in love (again) with Cassie’s style. I like how she writes a lot, her descriptions of actually everything are always very detailed and very metaphorical. If I look to closely at it I find it a bit ridiculous but actually I love reading that because it sounds like poetry sometimes.
How she describes love so emotionally is great and it touched me a lot actually. I’m such a helpless romantic, don’t tell my girlfriend, I’m afraid she might laugh at me.

Oh dear, this is getting way longer than I anticipated, I actually really want to go to bed.

The plot twists! Oh, the plot twists! There were a lot more than I thought there would be and it was pretty glorious. I love good writing, I love good stories, and I love when you can’t figure out what’s going to happen. So many things were revealed in a bang and especially the revelations at the end will play a huge role in the next two books and I can’t wait to read about that.

This book is also incredibly funny, even though many parts are sad and serious. I love puns and funny jokes and sarcasm and I found a lot in here. Emma is pretty sassy and I like her a lot for that.

When I think about it I’m pretty sure I like Lady Midnight more than City of Bones (which is the only book I’m going to compare it with right now since it’s the only one I actually read recently). I guess Cassie’s writing evolved a lot over the years and she certainly learned a few things.

I like how Lady Midnight feels differently than the other two series. Each one has their own tone, their own rhythm and I can’t stop thinking about all those differences and connections and how that feels like.

No book Cassandra Clare wrote has disappointed me so far. I didn’t set any expectations for this one but if I did it would have exceeded those by far. It’s a great book and I can’t wait to read the second one (in what feels like forever right now).

A Long Conversation (The Mortal Instruments #6.5)A Long Conversation by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I actually didn’t want to review this story itself, separately from Lady Midnight, but then I read it and I have a lot of feelings so many it’s better this way.

A Long Conversation is the absolutely adorable story at the end of Lady Midnight. It follows Clary and all the other lovely people we know from The Mortal Instruments during a certain party. This party was mentioned in Lady Midnight before but I won’t tell you what it’s about because I squeaked out loud when I read it and you all should find it a pleasant surprise as well.

Even though it’s only a very short story we get to know a lot about what has happened to our favourite characters and also those we might not like but that also played important roles. All of them, basically. Clary, Jace, Simon, Isabelle, Alec, Magnus, Maia and many more.

It touches on a lot of things that have been mentioned in Lady Midnight and I think it also mentions some of the story lines from Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy (which I haven’t read yet but know about, so I can’t say it for certain).

I love how the story comes full circle with Lady Midnight at the end and I love to have all those cute moments with all those characters. I really want to know more about them and what they are up to know and I know I definitely will in the future.

One thing annoys me, though: Clary should have had the chance to answer that question and I don’t understand why she dreads it.

View all my reviews


Have you already read Lady Midnight? What did you think?

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

