There’s this book I really want to recommend to you and I wrote a long review about it.

Fave fun.

Mind Your HeadMind Your Head by James Dawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have been looking forward to reading this book ever since I heard it would be happening a few months ago.

I love Juno’s books This Book Is Gay and All Of The Above (published under the name James Dawson, not Juno, don’t be confused). I especially loved This Book Is Gay because it includes so many different topics and is as inclusive as possible. AND it teaches you really serious topics in a pretty funny way, sometimes incredibly funny and pun-y. So, when I heard Juno would be writing a book about mental health – which is apart from everything about the LGBTQ* community THE topic society isn’t that great at handling it which interests me the most – I was thrilled because I knew it would be interesting and great.

And it was.

Mind Your Head teaches you a lot about many different kinds of mental illnesses. Not just anxiety and depression but many more. It also tells you quite a bit about the medical facts behind mental health and illness (that’s the part Dr. Olivia Hewitt had – and she did it really really well) and shows you everything in loads of cute illustrations (by Gemma Correll). You get statistics on how many people are estimated to suffer from mental illnesses (usually UK statistics, but that doesn’t mean it’s much different in other countries) and gives you LOADS OF TIPS AND HELP AND WEBSITES AND THINGS YOU SHOULD AND COULD DO!

Isn’t that great?

Really, like This Book Is Gay is a guide to all things LGBTQ* – from coming out over gay sex to what sexualities actually exist – Mind Your Head is a guide to all the things you should now about mental health. Well, of course there’s always more stuff to know and if you care about mental health you can definitely dig way deeper into a certain topic, but this book is a great overview on many many things.

I know I definitely learnt a lot about the different kinds of illnesses that exist and I didn’t know much about how many people are affected by them. I also really like the self-help tips and I’m going to try to think of them whenever I’m feeling not so great. There are also a few chapters that help me understand what friends of mine are going through or went through so I can recommend this book not also to people affected by mental illness or who are interested in the topic but also to anyone who knows someone affected.

Often I feel helpless and don’t know how to be there for my friends and help them and I still do after reading this book, but I do think that it made me think more and deeper about my friends’ problems and I hope I’ll go back to re-reading those super interesting chapters when the need occurs and maybe then I’ll act a bit smarter / know better what to say.

I’m slightly surprised about how “lightly” the book was written. The topic is very serious and some chapters are incredibly sad, but all in all it’s not a sad book or a hard-to-read one. You’re not bombarded with weird terms and cheerless facts – at least not if you don’t read it in one go – and you can still enjoy reading this book, at least a bit.

All in all I can say I’m really glad I read it and put 30 or so post it notes in it because I’m definitely going to look at it again in the near future and I hope many other people will read it too and learn from it as much as I did.

Well done, Juno (and Olivia and Gemma).

View all my reviews

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

