I love musicals. So far I’ve seen two live (Wicked and War Horse) and will see Chicago in two months and I wish I could get involved with more but I never really find the time to do so.

For months I’ve been reading about something called Hamilton on tumblr but never really know what it is and especially not what it’s about. Then my best friend really got into it and tried to get me to listen to the musical for weeks.

On Thursday I gave in and since then I’ve been listening to the whole thing way too many times and I can’t get the songs out of my head.


 

Hamilton is a musical written by Lin-Manuel Miranda, based on the biography Alexander Hamilton. As you already might have guessed, the story is mostly about Alexander Hamilton’s life. Oh, and revolution, war, governing and life.

You can read the whole plot on the Wikipedia page.

You can listen to the whole musical on Spotify (see below) or here on YouTube.


Why is it so amazing?

Well, for a few reasons. In the beginning I wasn’t sure what would be so special about this exact musical and I was questioning if I’d love it as much as many people I encountered on tumblr do. I wondered if the musical would be overly patriotic (which is something I don’t like) or, well, boring, because it’s about politics from 200 years ago. But it wasn’t boring. It was interesting.

The music is so different from what I expected. I didn’t expect hip-hop, rap, incredibly fast talking, people burning each other all the time, puns, explict lanugage and so on. I was delighted when listening to the songs.

I definitely fell in love with everything, not just the style, but also the characters who I have to love and pity and cry over and I like hearing about America’s history and what actually happened back then because I don’t know that much about it.

Favourite songs:

My Shot; Wait For It; Satisfied; Non-Stop; The Room Where It Happens; The World Was Wide Enough; Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story

I know, a lot, but ALL the songs are amazing! I could add a few more too but I think those are enough.


 

Do you know Hamilton? Do you like it? Tell me about it!

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

