I have read a bit over 30 books this year which is twice as much as I thought I could read. I’m actually really proud of myself for that. Some of those books were absolutely amazing and I want to recommend them to a lot of people so I thought I could talk about the 10 books I loved most this year. This is going to be hard to narrow down.

Not all of those books came out in 2015 but I haven’t read them in previous years.

I’m going to arrange them randomly, not in a special order and I’ll try to insert links but not whole reviews in here so that it doesn’t get too long.


I'll Give You the SunI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I bought this book after a last-minute recommendation when I was on vacation in London. I wanted to buy another book, something concerning either LGBT* characters or mental health and my friend told me I should buy this one, because it includes both. So I did, even though I was highly sceptical since the text on the back of the book didn’t really satisfy me.
I bought it anyway and now I’m very glad I did. This book is bloody amazing, no doubt…

Full review here

All the Bright PlacesAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh my god I love this book so much. I really don’t know where to start because there is so much I want to say and only so much that can stay into my mind and that I can fathom into words. This book made me explode a little bit inside and its topics are so close to my heart…

Full review here

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another of my reviews that starts with “OH MY GOSH THIS BOOK!”
I absolutely loved it. I started reading it the day I got it (on vacation in London), finished it maybe two days later (which is fast on vacation!) and felt for a while as if my world has become both filled and then empty…

Full review here

Two Boys KissingTwo Boys Kissing by David Levithan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh this book. I bought and read it in London on vacation and I kind of swallowed it. I’m in love with this book. From the first page on I was in love with the narration. It’s really interesting to read all those personal scenes from the perspective of someone not-there. From someone who is long gone but still lingers in this world, god-like. Those narrators have been dead for a while, they have suffered, they know what they are talking about. They are melancholic and happy for those young people…

Full review here

This Book Is GayThis Book Is Gay by James Dawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I so loved to read this book. When I saw it in a bookshop in London I knew this is something I’m interested in, something I could possibly connect with. And I did.
This Book Is Gay is a guide to ALL THINGS LGBT*. It includes so many things that are important to me: different sexualities like asexuality; feminism; sexism; arguments on why religion has nothing to do if gay couples should get married or not; representation of LGBT* in the media and more…

Full review here

Boy Meets BoyBoy Meets Boy by David Levithan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh, I love David Levithan so much. And LGBT* YA. I think it must be my favourite genre ever because I’m reading so many books like that and I love every single one of them.

This book wasn’t different. I know David’s style but I knew this is his debut novel and was interested to see if he wrote different 12 years ago. Answer: not really, his writing is just as amazing as in all the other books of him that I’ve read…

Full review here

The Rest of Us Just Live HereThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

THIS BOOK IS GOLD! I wish it was longer, I wish there would be more of it, I wish it wouldn’t end. I love it so much. I have read some bloody amazing books this year – which is really amazing, I’m a sucker for great books that I will remember for years – and I can add this one to the pile…

Full review here

More Than ThisMore Than This by Patrick Ness
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t even know where to start! I guess I could give this book 5 stars because it’s, really, so amazing but there’s one thing or maybe two that were a bit “meh”.

For how long I have wanted to read this book I can’t tell you. I didn’t know much about it but it always interested me and the cover looks beautiful and John Green wants me to read it, so, who am I to argue with that?…

Full review here

We Were LiarsWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It took me forever to be able to say “I really like this book”.
That’s the reason why it’s getting four and not five stars. The second half of the book would deserve five I guess. It held me captured, it made me think and plot and guess and for I while I thought what had happened but I was so wrong. The ending is absolutely amazing and the plottwist is just WOW and OH MY GOD and EVERYTHING MAKES FUCKING SENSE NOW which is really amazing…

Full review here

All of the AboveAll of the Above by James Dawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have wanted to read this book for quite a while. After I had read This Book Is Gay in August I knew I had to read more of James Dawson and I also knew there’s a bisexual character or something in All Of The Above and I’m bisexual myself so I HAD to buy it at some point and FINALLY I did it and I was not dissappointed at all!…

Full review here


Bonus book because I actually re-read it this year:

Will Grayson, Will GraysonWill Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I FINALLY GOT TO RE-READ IT!
I read all of John Green’s book about two and a half years ago and some I have re-read countless times since then (*cough* The Fault in our Stars *cough*) and some I haven’t for some still unknown reason (well, okay, this reason is not owning the book myself). I really wanted to read it again because I absolutely loved it those two years ago but realized, while reading Hold Me Closer, how much I had forgotten but how much I love this book. So I finally bought it and almost immediately started reading it…

Full review here


 

Did you read some of those books? What did you think? And do you maybe have some similar books you can recommend me? I love to know about other books!

See you soon ❤

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Books of 2015

  1. I agree with so many books on your list!! Especially I’ll Give You the Sun, it was one of my favourite books this year! I really love YA LGBT books too. Have your read Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli? If not I really recommend it, it was one of my favourite books of the year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, I love YA LGBT so much and Simon vs. is one of the books I have read this year too. I really liked it but I didn’t find it as amazing as some others I’ve read, that’s why it’s not on this list 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

