My incredibly long Hunger Games book reviews

I wanted to write reviews for the books for so long but I never managed to find the time or energy to do so. But in honour to my Panem November I thought I should do it. So here you go:


The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I guess it is finally time to review this beauty. I don’t know exactly what took me so long but probably the fact that I love the Hunger Games trilogy more than probably any other trilogy of books I have read. They mean the world to me and I want to bring that out in this review but without gushing all the time and screaming “I LOVE IT SO MUCH” on the top of my lungs.

Not sure if that will work out.

The first time I read the Hunger Games was in April or August 2011. I stayed at my grandparents’ house for a week in each of the months and I always took a lot of books with me because there wasn’t much else to do.

Back then the books weren’t so popular (in Germany) or I didn’t know they were so I was the first of my friends to read them. I didn’t know anything about it. Which is something that doesn’t happen to me often now. I usually know what’s going on or how people think of the book(s) because someone recommended them to me.

Anyway. I’m not really reviewing this book here but telling you my life story, am I right?

I love the story, I absolutely do. The Hunger Games was the first dystopian novel I (can remember I) read. I love the concept of this “what if” story. What could happen to our culture, what could happen to our environment and what would happen to the countries we have now? With Panem I’m not even mad we don’t know what happens to the rest of the world because they are in this space of their own, have their own problems and struggles and I don’t really want to know what the Capitol would do to people outside of Panem. If they even cared.

The Hunger Games is definitely critical. It makes us think about our own world, our culture, our society. What is our media doing? The same as the Capitol’s does often.

We too focus so much on the love life of our so called celibrities that we forget other things. We too care a lot about gossip and so on. We too often forget the rebellions, unjustices, revolutions going on in our countries or those around us. Suzanne Collins denunciates that.

Anyway, I don’t want to dwell too much on the background and overall plot but the plot of the first book.

I liked Katniss from the start. I loved how incredibly brave she was from the start. She wanted to save her sister and survive and she did. It was incredibly hard for her but she did it. I definitely adore badass female characters and she’s one of them.

Generally I absolutely adore the characters of these books. Sure, many of them die and many of them don’t show up as much as I would love to but all of them are complex, have their own background and story, the things that drive them and make them make the choices that define their lives.

They are maybe not really relatable because who of us has to fight for survival in an arena and has to kill people they still matter a lot.

I wish I could know more about their background, their stories, their lives.

I don’t know what else to say. There’s so much I could say but much ties in with the other books and maybe I should write that in those other reviews to come.

I know I cried reading this book, I smiled, I felt so much. I know I fell in love with this whole world and the people living in it.

And I know my life got so much better when I met people who feel the same.


Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I absolutely fell in love with the characters we met in this book. We learnt more about Haymitch and his past and we met all those other victors with their own sad, horrible stories.

I, of course, fell especially in love with Finnick Odair. Who didn’t, really? He is definitely one of my favourite characters and one of my first fanfictions ever (I only started writing fanfictions because of Panem anyway) was about him and Annie, if not the first. His life is tragic and he sheds a light on so much that happens to the victors, not only in Catching Fire but also in Mockingjay. He has also some very great quotes.

Because I read the back of the book I of course knew Katniss and Peeta would have to go back into the arena but it was still a huge shock to know why. The whole plot is just AHHHH. Why do all these amazing people have to die? Why is everything so cruel? Just why?!

I’m glad the arena wasn’t the only plot or the only huge thing that happens in the book. First you have the Victory Tour and how Katniss and Peeta deal with what happened in their hunger games. We saw so much of that and it is of course horrible. It’s horrible to see how those poor kids – who are as old as I am right now – suffer, have nightmares and don’t know how to act.

Especially with the upcoming rebellion… The end was a huge plot twist, mostly the last sentence. When I first read the book I kind of scremed and did NOT expect this. Poor District 12… it was even worse because I had to wait a few months until I could read Mockingjay.

I also really like Beetee, Wires, Mags and Johanna. But of course half of them have to die… We can’t have nice things, can we?

View all my reviews


I know they are really long, sorry. That’s also the reason I decided not to write a review of Mockingjay (yet). It’s just a bit too much feels.

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

