With this blog post I’m seriously kicking off my Panem month. I hope all goes well.

I thought, why not talk about the amazing music, the score, then stuff fans made. I’m going to include all of that in these posts (yes, I want to write them for all the films) and I hope it’s not going to be a huge mess.


The Hunger Games: Songs from District 12 and Beyond

They used, and it’s similar for the other films, only very few of the songs you can find on the soundtrack in the film. In this film you will hear Safe & Sound, Abraham’s Daughter and Kingdom Come.

Here is the whole track list:

thg tracklist

I really like Abraham’s Daughter, Safe & Sound and Eyes Open. I’m actually pretty sure this is the first time I really listened to Taylor Swift and liked what I heard. I also think this could be the first time I’ve heard of Birdy but I’m not sure about that.


The Score

Composed by the amazing James Newton Howard. The score is just absolutely amazing. I really love two songs.

Horn of Plenty

So powerfull and full. It definitely reminds you of the power of the Capitol and of the start of this epic game that will bring horror to the Districts and entertainment to the Capitol.

War by Hypnotic Brass Ensemble

Oh, I love this a lot. I’ve listened to it countless times and it makes me grin every single time. I always have to think of Caesar Flickerman, his blueness and happiness which may or may not be faked (I have read way too many fanfictions about this).

I have just realized this song isn’t even on the official score. Oh well. Sorry about that.


Stuff fans have created

I have quite a few of these things hidden in my way too many and long YouTube playlists. The first two are songs fans have created or covered.

Welcome to Panem by Sam Cushion

T.T.L. Deep Shadow (vocal version)

Hunger Games: The Hanging Tree – MainstayPro

Okay, this last one is actually pretty wrong here. It’s more a film and it’s not really The Hunger Games but a scene from Katniss’ childhood so it happened way before but for that reason it also fits most closely to the first film. I have watched many of MainstayPro’s videos. Some of them I have watched so many times I can probably still speak the words along. They made a lot of amazing Panem-related videos and this is one of them. They are singing Hanging Tree later on and I just really like it.

The Hunger Games Parody by The Hillywood Show

I don’t even know what to say about it. It’s perfect. Everything is perfect and those lyrics and oh gosh. This must be the first Hillywood parody I’ve ever seen and I kind of got hooked.

“Beauty has a price” Oh, so mysterious, Caesar.


I hope you enjoyed this little excursion back into 2012. I definitely loved watching all those videos again and possibly shedding a tear or two.

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

