Doctor Who – Before the Flood // Review

*takes a deep breath*

Okay, I’m trying to write about this episode now.

I had a lot of emotions. A ton.

I enjoyed this story a lot. I really liked Under The Lake last week and had quite high expectation for the second part of this adventure. Those were definitely met.

I am still very in love with all the characters. They all have their stories, they all have relationships that mean a lot to them and they are all amazing. I am so so sad O’Donnell had to die and I was so sad for [the man whose name I still can’t remember] Bennet (thank you tumblr) because he really loved her. She was such an adorable fangirl. Why did she have to die?

tumblr_nw0sesvR8m1qgoiqlo1_540

Thankfully Cass and Lunn didn’t die. I’ve always loved their relationship and in the end THEY KISSED! Awwww, so cute.

Anyway, we also had a story. Last week ended with such a huge cliffhanger and I was very excited to find out how the Doctor would bullshit his way out of dying.

Amazingly, of course.

It was maybe a bit too confusing and paradox-y for my taste but it did work out and all was fine in the end. Well, people died, but that’s normal, isn’t it? No, seriously, I don’t have much to complain plot wise.

I still absolutely love the idea of the story, the ghosts, the underwater station with this gloomy atmosphere. And the Fisher King was, well, huge.

The Doctor and Clara feel very human right now. What I want to say with that is that you KNOW why they are doing what, you know that they have their principles, you know that they care for each other, you know they don’t want people to die. You know that they are flawed, but that makes them complex and well written.

I also really like the relationship between the two of them right now. They mean a lot to each other and don’t want to loose that. I hope they don’t, of course, but who knows what will happen at the end of the season.

The opening sequence was amazing too. The Doctor broke the fourth wall (which I LOVED), played guitar and we had a new theme. Perfect.


Next time:

Vikings and Maisie Williams! Can it get better than that? I really like Maisie, as an actress in Game of Thrones and as a person and I’m in love and obsessed with everything Norse/Scandinavian so I hope I’m going to love The Girl Who Died.

the girl who died

(I know I fucked that screenshot up, don’t judge me)

What do you think about Before The Flood?

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

