The Scorch Trials – A short review

On Friday I went to see Scorch Trials with a friend. I was quite excited for the film but had no idea what to expect. I knew that a lot has been changed from the book and didn’t know how much I would like that or not. I’m still not so sure about that to be honest.

For some reason I have forgotten a lot of the plot of The Scorch Trials (probably because it’s in between Maze Runner and Death cure and I remember more of those books?) and, as I said, I’m not quite sure what I think about the movie yet, so I just want to review it quickly and don’t go too much into the details because I might have missed/forgotten a lot.


I totally loved the look of the film. I’m in love with orange/red colours and deserts are really pretty. The landscapes were epic, the cities wrecked and fucked up. The effects were great too. Those of the cranks… woah, pretty horrific. A bit different from how I thought they would look but that wasn’t irritating to me. Really horrifying were the last-stage cranks in those tunnels… They scared the hell out of me.

Generally I thought the film sometimes really felt like a horror/zombie movie. Not everything of course but the scenes in this mall in the dessert as well as those in the city were really scary. I survived the jump scares but my heart skipped a beat, let me tell you.

I love the characters even though I feel like a lot is missing that I loved in the books. I’m so in love with Newt and Minho as well and Thomas sometimes when he’s not acting completely stupid and thinks for a moment. I thought Aris would be a bit different though. I don’t know, I don’t think he seemed that quiet and small in the books. I started disliking Theresa earlier in the films than I did in the books I think. I still don’t understand how she could betray them. I’m definitely on Thomas’ side.

Plotwise: SO different from the book. Like, SO SO different. I don’t know why they changed as much as they did. The film was still great though, if you forget that it’s based on those books. I really really enjoyed the film on itself.

I miss a lot that has happened in the book and I’m not so sure what will happen with Death Cure. Will they again change so much? Will nothing stay the same? No idea.

I’m really looking forward to Death Cure because I want this question answered and because I have some moments from the book I definitely don’t want to see changed in the film.


Have you seen it? What do you think?

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

