Today, 23 September, is Bi Visibility Day. I didn’t even know about that until today morning when I checked Twitter and saw a lot about it. I thought, okay, I’m bi myself, I care a lot about LGBTQ* issues so I could write about it. So here I am. I don’t even know what exactly I want to tell you but I want to make bisexuals more visible (because that’s the goal of this day, duh).

I never cared much about coming out, but lately I’ve been thinking about it a bit, to say the least. I thought about who knows about my sexuality, who I want to know about my sexuality and who I don’t want to. I still don’t care as much about it as many others do. I recently talked to someone who told me he being gay is THE thing ne identifies himself with most and also to someone who has a really difficult time accepting he’s gay and it takes him forever to come out to his friends and family. I don’t identify a lot with being bi. I identify way more with being a LGBTQ* supporter or whatever you want to call that. So I’m fighting for rights and I’m involved but I don’t talk about my particular involvement a lot because I never saw my sexuality as particularly important. But, as I said, recently I got more into thinking about it.

The gay someone I just mentioned is part of this organisation in Munich which goes to school and educates pupils on all things LGBTQ*. I think this is a great thing and this made me realize how much I would love to do something helpful. Or at least meet other people who do something helpful and talk to them. But that means I have to think a bit more about my sexuality and how important or not that is to me and also possibly talk about it. This seems weird to me because I never really cared. I never cared who knew about me being bi. Hell, I told my best friend about me being bisexual by sending her my blogpost talking about it!

Here comes the bit BUT: But now I know a lot more about the issues queer people are facing and I want to fight against them. And that means to make LGBTQ* people more visible. Talk about them. Show everyone it’s normal to be gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, asexual or something else that’s not seen as “normal” in our heteronormative society.

So, I will start to talk about it more. Also about myself. Because there are a lot of reasons for that. Some I mentioned in this blogpost. We need to fight homophobia/biphobia/shitty people out there. We need to fight for the rights of not-straight people. We need to help people who struggle with themselves and who don’t understand why they are not like “everyone else”.

Bisexuality is even less talked of in the media than homosexuality. It often seems like you can either be straight or gay and there’s nothing else. Of course there are sexualities rarely anyone aknowledges (asexuality for example) but today is #BiVisibilityDay, so I’m trying to focus on that (you might have noticed that this is not happening). Many people don’t even know it exists which is really annoying but what can we do against that? Well, educate the people around us. Talk to them. That’s what I’m trying to do and that’s why I love concepts like #BiVisibilityDay (I think those days exist for other sexualities as well). Making LGBTQ* causes more visible helps fighting against the ignorance and intolerance out there.

It is yet to be seen if I actually manage to take the courage to join an organisation or do something helpful in some way but at least I’m talking and writing about it. That’s the least you can do and I think that’s a very good thing to do. So if you have a voice, raise it. Only by talking we can make it easier for people to come out, to feel like they belong, to help them.


Be proud. Don’t think you’re not “normal” because of your sexuality.

You are awesome.

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

