Aristotle and Dante & Two Boys Kissing

I have bought and read two of my favourite books ever this summer and they are these two:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another of my reviews that starts with “OH MY GOSH THIS BOOK!”
I absolutely loved it. I started reading it the day I got it (on vacation in London), finished it maybe two days later (which is fast on vacation!) and felt for a while as if my world has become both filled and then empty.
I’m absolutely in love with this book. It filled me with so much joy and happiness, it made me feel so much. I DID cry and I felt miserable for Ari and Dante, I felt miserable because I relate to Ari a lot (Dante also a bit) and I felt GREAT because the writing and the story and all those quote-like sentences are just so amazing and awesome.
I fell in love with every page, which is not only rare for me but also just really great.
I didn’t have many expectations because I didn’t think about it but the book would have surpassed any expectations I could have had.
It made me think, it made me feel hugged and appreciated.
It’s such a delicate story of friendship and love and those challenges in life everyone of us has to face.
Unbelievably beautiful.

Two Boys KissingTwo Boys Kissing by David Levithan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh this book. I bought and read it in London on vacation and I kind of swallowed it. I’m in love with this book. From the first page on I was in love with the narration. It’s really interesting to read all those personal scenes from the perspective of someone not-there. From someone who is long gone but still lingers in this world, god-like. Those narrators have been dead for a while, they have suffered, they know what they are talking about. They are melancholic and happy for those young people.
It’s not hard to fall in love with each of those young boys. They are diverse, each is a character on it’s own who has his own story he is still building.
This book includes homophobia, transgender people, mental illness, suicidal thoughts.
It’s haunting.
It’s definitely not always happy, I cried a bit reading it and I felt so close to those characters.
I felt alive through what they are going through, through chalenges, problems, insecurity, happiness, anxious times and more.

I love this book so much because it told me so much about those people long gone and also about those people living now. It told me to be strong, to love how I want to love, to challenge myself, to be curious and to try things.

View all my reviews


Surprise, surprise, both are YA, both are LGBT*. I’m quite in love with this combination and here’s why:

Representation. That shit is important. (Also, those books are incredibly well written and I love them to death but that’s not what this is about)

People want to feel like they belong. LGBT* people want to feel like they’re also “normal”, not some weirdos because they are queer, not straight. We need diverse books, not always the same story about a girl and a boy falling in love. Because that’s not true. There are a lot of girls falling in love, a lot of boys falling in love with boys, a lot of people realizing they belong in a different body, a lot of people who are not “the norm”.

Especially young people shouldn’t feel cast out. They shouldn’t feel like they can’t tell their friends and family on who they have a crush, they shouldn’t feel like hiding.

And how do you make people not feel that way? You tell them. You tell them they belong, you tell them there’s nothing wrong with them and you show them that other people did and do it. You make it a normal thing to be LGBT*, not something rare and weird.

This world is too narrow-minded, too heteronormative, but with telling and spreading the word and reading you can help.

Let’s go back to the books.

Aristotle and Dante is set in the past, in the 80s. And you know what? Both of their parents are so okay with them being gay. So okay. They have found love and that’s so damn adorable.

Two Boys Kissing is about boys with very different stories. Some of their parents are okay with them being gay, having boyfriends, some have only friends that are totally open and fine. Some don’t. Some can’t tell their family who they are because they know they would react badly. But in the end those families still love their children. They are homophobic, yes, but with educating them you can change that. Craig and Harry want to break the world record of the longest kiss. Through that they are showing thousands and thousands of people that a boy can kiss a boy, and it’s no big deal, it’s a kiss. Period. They want to set a statement and they do.

It’s brave of them, they are getting hate, people are shouting at them, people are awfull, but they remain hopefull, they remain strong.

And that’s beautiful. That’s how it’s supposed to be.

And it makes me realize that I want to set a statement too.

And maybe you too?

See you soon ❤

3 thoughts on “Aristotle and Dante & Two Boys Kissing

Leave a Reply

