I bought 13 books in London, which I really didn’t expect. I thought “maybe one or two, you know exactly you don’t have much time to read” but… something happened.

SDC18300

I’ve already read some of them and all of those I read were amazing, but let me tell you about all of them.

(I tried to sort the books by the shops I bought them at but I totally fucked that up with the photos as you’ll see in a bit.)

SDC18303

Waterstones


We often went to one of the Waterstones in Oxford Street and also to one in Oxford itself but I bought all three Waterstones books in London. Waterstones bookshops are everywhere in the UK, they are often big and pretty awesome. The only problem is that there’s no real YA section so you have to search for your books a bit.

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris (read, rating 4.5/5 stars)

I’ve read one book of Joanne Harris before, Runemarks (you’ll read about it in a bit) and this is kind of a prequel to it, but only if you read Runemarks too, if not it’s just a story on it’s own. This is the story, narrated by Loki himself, from the beginning of the worlds until Ragnarok. I’ve finished it yesterday and I really enjoyed it. I love the Norse Mythology so it was really great to read about ALL the stories from the slightly sarcastic point of view of my favourite Trickster.

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan (read, rating 5/5)

I read this in London and in the plane on the way back and I absolutely loved it. It’s my third book of David Levithan I read, the other two are Will Grayson, Will Grayson (with John Green) and Hold me Closer (my best friend bought in in London and I’ve read it there as well). The narration is unique and very interesting, I don’t think I’ve read something like this before. I loved the stories of all those (gay) people and how their lives are connected, how they and their surroundings deal with them being gay and how they form relationships. It made me cry and laugh and very very emotional but it’s so worth it.

The Time Traveler’s Journal

This is one of those books you can draw in and stick stuff in it our rip pages out and more. I never had one of those and always wanted one so when I saw a Doctor Who themed one I immediately knew I had to buy it. I already drew and wrote a bit in it and it’s quite fun!

Forbidden Planet


Runemarks by Joanne Harris (read, rating 5/5)

You can find FP in Covent Garden and – to my surprise – it’s whole basement is full of books! I have read Runemarks at least three times, I always got it from my local library (in German) and I absolutely loved it. It must be three or four years or so since I first read it. I really didn’t think about it for a while but when I saw The Gospel of Loki I knew I had to re-read this book or at least buy it. The plot is after Ragnarok, when the worlds have been quiet for a long while. The gods are gone but magic is still there and then this girl with ancient powers meets the Trickster and things get rolling again. This is one of the first things that made me geek over Norse Mythology and I haven’t stopped since.

SDC18304

Foyles


I have to admit that Foyles is way better than Waterstones, sorry. There’s only one Foyles (I think) and you can find it in Charing Cross Street, which is at the end of Oxford Street. It’s a pretty big store with a HUGE YA section and LOTS of LGBT* books. I found so many great books there! And it has free WIFI!

Runelight by Joanne Harris

This is the sequel to Runemarks. I didn’t know for a long time that there would be a sequel/it existed. Well, in fact I only knew it when I read it in the back of the copy of Runemarks I bought… One of my friends found this on the very last day we spend in London and I kind of ripped the book out of her hands (sorry love). I was so glad I found it in the end and I’m so looking forward to reading it.

More Than This by Patrick Ness

I’ve read quite a bit about this book, I read and exerpt and I think it’s very interesting. I also really love the cover, it’s just beautiful. I’m also really looking forward to reading this. I wanted to buy it on the first day we went to Foyles, found another book instead and thought “no, you will only buy two books now” and just two days later we came back and… well.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

On the very last day in London I asked my dear friend Nadja to quickly send me a book I should buy because I almost only want to read about either LGBT* stuff or mental illnesses but didn’t find something that’s interested me (as if I hadn’t bought so much already…). So she told me this title, I searched through three shelves, read the back and bought it. I hope it’s as good as she said 🙂

Aristotle and Dante discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (read, rating 5/5)

THIS BOOK! I LOVE IT! I love it even more than Two Boys Kissing and both of those books are just incredible. I bought it on the first bookshop-day and instantly fell in love. I know that above mentioned Nadja loves it and I found it in the LGBTQA YA shelf so I instantly knew I HAD to buy it. So I did. And I read it, really quickly. I cried a bit in our hostel bunk beds because it’s so great and also sad but also happy and just awesome. It’s about two boys, how they meet each other, how they become friends, how life happens. I enjoyed reading it so so much. [not on any of those pictures, my best friend is reading it right now]

This Book is Gay by James Dawson

This one just SCREEMED at me (because of the colours of course). As you might have noticed by now, I’m a big LGBT* enthousiast and I love to inform myself about everything and read about it and people concerned a lot. At first I just ignored it because I found other books at Foyles I wanted to buy but at some point I came back to it. It’s a guide about all things LGBT* with definitions and explanations and everything there is to know as far as I’m concerned. This is a book I really want to read soon and this is a book you can smack in every homophobe/not enough educated person’s face.

Gay’s the Word


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I HAD to buy a book in Gay’s the Word! I had never been to a gay bookstore and I was still fangirling so much that I found the original shop from the film Pride. I looked through all the shelves and then discovered this. I don’t know, it sounded really interesting and it’s LGBT*, so I bought it. I hope it’s good 🙂

SDC18305

Skoob


Skoob is this amazing second hand bookshop near Russel Square Station. It’s quite big and full of old and new books. Many cost 4 pound, so it’s really affordable.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (read, rating 3/5)

I have to admit that I don’t like the Hobbit so much. I read the book (in German) a while ago (just before the first film came out) and it wasn’t really… my thing. It was too short and everything happened to quickly, without many explanations. Maybe I will like the original more. I have to admit that my parents and I don’t own a single Tolkien book and when I saw this copy I knew this would change. I hope I can re-read it soon (I wanted to do that before the third film but… well).

Alice’s Shop


This is a cute little shop in Oxford, dedicated to Lewis Carroll’s wonderland books. There aren’t many books in it but, you guessed it:

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (read, rating 4/5)

I’m not sure if I’ve ever read the original as I child, I definitely didn’t own it. So when we went into the shop we just knew we had to buy it. In fact four of us five bought this book and two or three the sequel Alice Through the Looking Glass. I want to read that one too, there’s also a movie adaption of it coming out next year. I started it on Christ Church Meadow in Oxford and finished it the next day I think. We were all quite surprised how many puns you can find in this book and how funny it actually is. I really enjoyed reading it and I’m glad I bought it. It’s a childhood memory but also something I still want to keep in my life, those cute fairytales.

The “The Making of Harry Potter” shop


Quidditch Through the Ages by J.K. Rowling (read, rating 4/5)

I think this is the first book I bought in London. I have already read Fantastic Beats and Where to Find them and The Tales of Beedle the Bard so I of course had to buy this one too. I read both of the other books last year and kind of forgot about the third until I saw it in the shop. I quite enjoyed reading it. It’s quite interesting and it’s another glimpse in the world of Harry Potter which I of course love.


I didn’t know I could ramble about all those books for so long but apparently I can. I just love reading.

See you soon ❤

One thought on “The books I bought in London

Leave a Reply

