I love this film a lot and I thought I just have to write something about it on this blog.

Pride was recommended to me by my friend Joyce. I had heard of the film when the trailer came out but totally forgot about it until she told me about it. And I’m very thankfull for that because … gosh, I’m just going to start talking about it.


Pride is a BBC film that hit theaters last autumn. Here is the Wikipedia page, here the official trailer and if you need an online stream… well, I can always help you with that. I’m recommending this film to literally everyone out there. Please watch it. It’s bloody amazing. I’ve seen it twice now and could watch it so many more times. It’s probably one of my favourite films ever.

Not all characters in the film are based on real life characters, but many of them. There have been changes from the real story, but as far as I know most of it is true.

The film is about the miners strike in the UK in 1984/1985 and the group of lesbians and gays who supported them. It’s about judging, homophobia, shitty people, standing up for your cause, for who you are. It’s sad, it’s happy, it’s inspiring.

It makes me feel proud of who I am.

And it made me go to a Pride myself. Because of this film I looked up Christopher Street Day near my hometown and I went to my first ever CSD last weekend. Now I feel even prouder and even more part of this whole awesome and fabulous community.


Some moments that had an impact on me:

Mark Ashton (probably my favourite character *sigh*, his story is so tragic):

Have some pride. Because life is short

At one point all the miners and their families and the LGSM people sing together in the town hall in Wales and it’s so beautiful. The song is great and just have goosebumps all the time.

I love their parties. The Gay Pride in 1984, in 1985 and the charity party. It’s so great fun to see them happy and celebrating. You kind of forget their struggels and problems. You just see that gays have the best parties ever. And that they are so tolerant, so open.

HIV/AIDS is also a topic of this film. Jonathan is the second ever HIV positive person in the UK and a past lover of Mark is apparently dying of AIDS. It’s a harsh world… it’s so sad that so many people die of this disease. I believe we can do something about it or at least we can try. With condoms and all that. God, illnesses so many people die of are so … horrible and sad.

Coming out is also an important topic. Bromley/Joe hides that he is gay. In the end that was probably better because his parents freaked out when they found out. They got so angry and treated him terribly. He doesn’t deserve it and no one does. In the end he runs away and tells them how stupid they (his whole family in fact) is. Booya, I’m proud of you boy. And then there’s Gethin. For 16 years he ran away from his home because his mother didn’t accept him the way he was. But she changed. And in the end she understood that he is her son and that she loves him. That’s how it’s supposed to be. Gethin’s story makes my heart break but I’m so glad it got better for him.

There are also some cool powerful women in this film. Sian is one of them. She learns to stand up for shit. She learns to don’t hide herself, to do the stuff she wants to do. And after years she becomes an educated women in politics. How cool is that?

There are so many homophobic people … Maureen is one of them. I can’t understand them, I really can’t. It makes me sick to listen to them and see how fucking narrow minded they are. The worst thing is, that it hasn’t changed enough since the 1980s. Society has to change a lot to fully accept people that are not “traditional” or just not straight.

Inspiring quote from Jonathan:

There are young people dying every day. Clever, promising. Don’t you dare waste it.

I literally have tears and my eyes during the scene where you see all those glorious people from Wales approaching with the “Miners support Lesbians & Gays” banner on their bus. It warms my heart. It makes me cry. All of the scenes of the Gay & Lesbian Pride 1985 make me cry. It’s so lovely to see all of them. They know where they belong. They are together. They are marching togethere for a great thing.

Even Cliff, who is quite old and has probably always been “in the closet” finds a group he belongs to. He sees a banner with “Gay Poetry” written on it, gasps, and marches with them. How heart-warming is that?

This dialogue tells us quite a lot about our society and how we should really react:

Reporter: “You must have found it a bit weird, a bunch of gays and lesbians decending on you like that”

Cliff: “Why on earth would we have found that weird?”


Have you watched this film? What do you think, do you like it? If not, please watch it! 🙂

See you soon ❤

One thought on “Let me tell you about the film Pride

Leave a Reply

