Bastille Quote #1 – MondayMusicday

“How am I gonna be an optimist about this”

Pompeii by Bastille (x)

My lovely friend Nadja reminded me of this line recently. Pompeii is a pretty popular song and I’ve listened to it many times but I never really thought about it and what it could actually mean to me.

But after Nadja told me about it again I thought about it and decided to write a blog post 🙂 so here I am!


I really like Bastille, I think they are one of my favourite bands. I like their songs and the members seem to be really nice and I’d love to go to a concert of them one day. They are really cool and I like their music style.

So, this quote. I relate to it a lot actually (as always with my Monday quotes… why am I even saying this again? Whatever, I’m so tired right now and basically just want to go to bed but I feel like writing right now.)

I used to be very optimistic about everything. I thought positively and reminded people of that a lot. I’m actually still reminding people a lot about being positive and I’m telling everyone that everything will work our fine in the end and such, but I’m not FEELING it anymore.

That’s actually pretty sad.

But true.

I’m not happy with everything that is happening to me and life in general. There are so many bad news all the time and the world seems to be so fucked up. And it seems it won’t get better soon.

So how should I be optimistic about that?

Well, I actually should be.

Because there are always these good things. People can be nice to each other, people and animals are saved, we find cures to illnesses and we discover so much about the world and develop new technologies.

These are all good things.

But that doesn’t make the bad things go away, sadly.

“The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things. The good things don’t always soften the bad things, but vice versa, the bad things don’t always spoil the good things and make them unimportant”

The Doctor said that once in one of my absolute favourite episodes (Vincent and the Doctor).

And I think it’s very true.

I’m not optimistic anymore because right now half of my life is shit and the other half is good and I can’t really deal with that. I don’t know how to be optimistic about the future I’m so scared of.

I guess I just need to wait and see. And maybe, if more and more nice little things happen to me/in the world in general, then I’ll be optimistic again.

(Some optimism at the end here!)


What do you think about this song?

See you soon ❤

2 thoughts on “Bastille Quote #1 – MondayMusicday

  1. You know what I think about this part of the song. You make it very depressing (as all of the quotes, I noticed). To me, it’s heavily ironic. They are standing at the bottom of Mount Vesuvius exploding and everything they say is “well, how am I gonna be an optimist about this”, which implies to me, that someone has pointed out their pessimistic world view in the past and this person is standing next to them. We certainly have a different approach to that quote!

    Like

    1. Well, no. I think it can also be meant that way, I saw this post on tumblr and such, but maybe I see two sides when I read this quote?

      Like

Leave a Reply

