Avengers Age of Ultron Review – Spoilers!

I saw Age of Ultron on Thursday with some of my best friends and it was an amazing evening. We all had a lot of fun and I wanted to make a review of it, tell you what I thought of the film.

And because I can’t contain myself and I could only say three sentences about AOU without giving anything out, beware:

2h6gb9f-1


I had very high expectations after the first Avengers, but I tried not to think too hard about what I want and expect from AOU, because I didn’t want to be disappointed in the end. Anyway, I wasn’t. So not at all. There are always flaws in films, especially in action films where the action sequenzes are maybe more important than the character developement. Well, not this one.

I was so happy we saw more of Hawkeye. A lot more. And THE THING WITH THE FAMILY AND THE FARM AND OH MY GOD HOW CUTE IS THAT? Seriously, I was so happy to see that and I didn’t really expect this to happen! And it was so funny to see the other Avengers in this calm and domestic environment. Thor was very cute, the scene where he stepped on that girls Legos, awwww. (Sadly he didn’t hang Mjölnir in the wardrobe again)

We got a lot of Bruce too! And it broke my heart, literally. After the incident in Africa they all sat on the plane, mood as deep down as the mines of Moria go, and just the look on Bruces face… I felt so so bad for him. He got through so much shit in this film… But character developement, oh yes! He is working on controling the Hulk with help from Natasha and I’m very happy about that. But WHAT happened at the end with him?! He just disappeared and no one knows what happened and I’m very worried – so is Natasha – and I don’t want to wait for at least a year until we see if he crashed with that plane or what the hell he happened.

I’m not exactly sure how I feel about the relationship between Bruce & Nat. I never shipped them before, but I think I do now. I never expected that to happen but come on, I ship almost everything if you only let me. I think it’s an interesting relationship and they are both complex characters and I’m sure they’re good for each other, because both feel bad about themselves.

And with this great transition we come to Natashas backstory (Wanda’s powers are amazing, but the visions were really scary): We knew since the trailer dropped that this would happen but I wasn’t ready for the feels. My poor baby Natasha ohmygod! In Agent Carter they mentioned the program she was in when she was a child but we didn’t know everything that happened there. Now we know. And they even sterilized her, I’m so sorry for her, really. I really understand now where her abilities come from and how badly she wants to find a place, a home, in this world. I hope she finds that soon.

I love Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch. I was very excited for them and they were great! Their powers are very interesting and the relationship between those two is so strong, it gives me all the feels. They suffered a lot in their youth when their parents died and I’m sure the time in Struckers lab wasn’t so easy peasy either. I loved it how Hawkeye said to Wanda “when you step out of that door you’re an Avenger” and she did it and so she’s an Avenger now. An amazing one. I love their accents to by the way. But WHY did Pietro have to die?! I definitely didn’t expect that and I was so so shocked. I really liked him for god’s sake! And he only got to be in one film… that’s not enough! I want more of him! He’s great! I’m hoping they can resurrect him in some kind of way… they did that in the comics a friend told me.

I also loved the Vision. I didn’t know anything about him except for some YouTube videos explaining the plot of AOU a while ago. He is awesome. How he looks is really interesting, because he has the form of a human but these different colours and very cool abilities. I was so excited to see Loki’s scepter again because LOKI and it was cool to see this thing that had such an impact in Avengers 1 again. What was really cool is that they destroyed the BLUE scepter and a YELLOW Infinity Stone fell out because now it all makes more sense and I wasn’t sure where the Infinity Stone in Visions head would come from. I’m very excited about the Infinity Stones. They are now all over the universe and I wonder how they will all come together in a few years.

THOR WENT BACK TO ASGARD! Only in the vision Wanda gave him and not really to Asgard but more to Helheim or Valhalla, I’m not sure what they said in the film, but I was so happy to see that. I love everything concerning the norse mythology and my heart beat a little faster during these scenes. We saw Heimdall again! I really like his character and I really like Idris Elba, so this was definitely a highlight of the film. And Thor saw the Infinity Stones and got a picture of everything going on. Finally!

During the party scene pretty much at the beginning you could spot so many people. Of course Stan Lee’s cameo and Sam Wilson came back! Who doesn’t love Falcon? Oh, and I really love Maria Hill. I wish we would see her on Agents of Shield but it of course makes sense that we don’t. Fury came back too, which was expected. But I wish Coulson was in this film too. But noooo, he’s only on TV shows anymore.

Ultron’s sass was hilarious. I loved every of his comments. I didn’t know artificial intelligence could be this funny, but it worked.

I could talk for hours about all the characters and actors, but I need to move on to other topics too.

THE EFFECTS. Very well done guys! I especially loved Wanda’s and Pietro’s powers, because they always used the colours red and blue and because it looked just so awesome. And Jarvis and Ultron (as the artificial intelligence) looked great, it was really interesting to see these two minds as a figure and to see the differences between those two. And how they did this hovering city… woah. Very epic.

Speaking of epic: the whole film was epic. It was so full of characters and action and so much happened. And in my opinion it worked. It worked very well. And I’m glad it did because I was scared it wouldn’t work and everything would seem disoriented and too much. But the film flows and everything seems to fit together.

I think that’s enough. I could still say so much more but I think I have to stop at some point.


Have you already seen Age of Ultron? What did you think of it? Tell me in the comments or message me on my social media, I’d be very happy to talk about it 🙂

See you soon ❤

One thought on “Avengers Age of Ultron Review – Spoilers!

Leave a Reply

