Last week I made a post about the songs of the Hobbit movie trilogy, so why not make one for the Lord of the Rings too? As much as I love the Hobbit, Lord of the Rings will always be something special. The movies are amazing, I love the books, it includes these beautiful and inspirational quotes, and oh, my first movie marathon ever was of the LOTR Extended Editions. I’m now sure I have to make a post (or maybe more) about the score of both trilogies, but let’s start with the end credits songs, shall we?


May it be – Enya (The Fellowship of the Ring)

Come on, you have to admit, this song is beautiful.

Enya’s voice is giving me chills and I now want to dance like an elf through my room, with elegant movements and in a long white dress.

I don’t even know what so say about this song, I’m sorry. I want to, but I just can’t fathom my thoughts.

IT’S JUST SO BEAUTIFUL! And so fitting to the elves of Rivendell and Lothlorien in the first movie.

The lyrics describe what is happening in the movie. “You walk a lonely road. Oh! How far you are from home” The hobbits are so far away from the Shire now, they joined this big adventure. Oh, I have a lot of feelings for my poor baby hobbits. “Believe and you will find your way” This is inspiring, for us and of course for our hobbits and their companions. In the end you will find the right path and reach your destination.  Just have a little hope.

It’s magical. And that is what LOTR is for many of us too, right?


Gollum’s Song – Emiliana Torini (The Two Towers)

I have to admit that I have never been one of Gollum’s fans. I know that many people pity him and think he’s this poor tortured sould you can’t blame for anything, but… No, I can’t really see that. Of course I know what happened to him and what the ring and Sauron’s torturers did to him, but he is still not a nice person! He’s evil and wants to harm our poor lovely hobbits and is just a nasty ceature. And kind of disgusting, seriously, have you looked at him?

The song is, I don’t know, not very harmonic or perfect or very beautiful – at least in a different way than May it be and Into the West – but it’s a special song.

Because it captures Gollum’s two sides – Gollum and Sméagol. He is torn between these two sides, they comete inside of him. They did a great job at creating this song and taking Gollum’s two sides into account. What he thinks and feels. And when I listen to the song and read the lyrics, then I feel sad for Gollum.

“We can never go home” This poor creature has lost so much and doesn’t have a home anymore…

“No loyal friend was ever there for me” He feels betrayed by everyone, of course mostly by Frodo and Sam in the end. That’s why he wants to kill them.

Well done Fran and Peter and Philippa and Emiliana, you make me feel something for Gollum.

(And Emiliana’s voice is also very beautiful.)


Into the West – Annie Lennox (The Return of the King)

The perfect end to this trilogy. I could cry every time I’m listening to it. The lyrics are beautiful, Annie’s voice is wonderful and it’s just all so lovely.

I love May it be and Gollum’s Song, really, but nothing is as good as Into the West. I have always loved this song a lot, but due to recent events it is stuck in my head and will probably stay there forever.

As you may or may not know, I’ve been to HobbitCon 3 over the Easter weekend. I won’t go into details, I hope I can motivate myself to write the blog posts about HobbitCon this weekend. Anyway, I was in the choir workshop and we sang a medley of Edge of Night, Namárië and Into the West.

Into the West is way longer than the other two songs, and it was great fun to learn how to sing it properly (I’m not a good singer by the way, but I still loved it) and it’s so beautiful sung by 100 to 140 people.

And I of course want you to listen to it! Because I think we were pretty good. I uploaded the song on my tumblr, so listen to it here. What do you think? I’m pretty proud of all of us.

I’m listening to the song (again) right now and I have goosebumps. I know I said about May it be earlier that it is magical, but Into the West is it even more. I won’t talk about the lyrics, just listen to them for yourself, because they are so beautiful and fitting to the end of the trilogy and I kind of want to cry right now. Oh dear, I love this song so much.

“Don’t say, we have come now to the end” No, it goes on. The fandom, the love for Tolkien and his work and also HobbitCon thankfully.


And again: You can see how much I love these songs. I could probably write even more about them, especially concerning Into the West and the coir and HobbitCon.

All of the songs for Peter Jackson’s movies are so special to me and I love that! They are connected to so many lovely memories and experiences I had.

These songs make the movies even more special and important to me. I won’t ever forget them.

What about you? What do you think about these songs? Do they have a special meaning to you too?

Don’t say, we have come now to the end

You and I will meet again.

See you soon ❤

2 thoughts on “The Lord of the Rings Trilogy Songs – MondayMusicday

    1. Thank you for your comment 🙂
      I’m feeling the same way. Into the West is just… wow. I really love it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

