I really love the Hobbit movies. Sure, they have their flaws and are maybe not very true to the book, but that’s a discussion for another post. Today I only want to talk about the amazing soundtrack. Or, to be more specific, about the end credits songs.


Song of the Lonely Mountain – Neil Finn (An Unexpected Journey)

I love it how they included the Misty Mountains song – the lyrics, the melody and so on – but still changed it and made it a longer version. A perfect song for the movie I think. It’s not too dark or sad, but happy and you notice that it is only the beginning of a very long adventure.

1uksz7hlrbfjeg_small

And it is of course fitting to use an artist from New Zealand for this 3 hour New Zealand commercial. (But I really like Neil Finn! I should probably check him out)


I See Fire – Ed Sheeran (The Desolation of Smaug)

I love this song so much. I think I cried a few times while listening to it in the beginning. And later too…

I have always loved Ed Sheeran and maybe I freaked out a little when I found out that he would sing the song for the next Hobbit movie *ahem*. But only a little, I swear.

Seriously, that song is AMAZING! I love everything – Ed’s voice, the guitar, the melody and of course the lyrics.

It’s a sad song I guess, also calm, and already foreshadows a lot that will happen in BOTFA – for example the deaths, or “desolation comes upon the skies”.

What I also love is that Thorin says in the movie “If this is to end in fire then we shall all burn together” and that’s exactly a line in the song! I fucking adore parallels.

But there is one thing I don’t entirely get: “And I hope that you remember me” Who should remember whom? I have some ideas, but I’m just not sure. Should everyone remember Thorin and the company? I guess it’s that.


The Last Goodbye – Billy Boyd (The Battle of the Five Armies)

When the first trailer for BOTFA came out and they used The Edge of Night I almost cried – during the trailer for a movie, god. I love that song a lot and I love Billy Boyd’s voice.

And when it was announced that he would sing The Last Goodbye I definitely freaked out. I was so excited and had high expectations for the song.

And the song lives up to it, I’m sure.

They used a few lines from that one poem or song from the Hobbit, I’m not sure what it is but it’s definitely mentioned in the beginning of the book.

“Nor will I forget all who took that road with me” Awww! No, Bilbo won’t forget what happened and he said so in the movie too (hell yes parallels again!).

I think the song is – again – perfect for the movie. I could analyse every line and find a scene in the trilogy – or in the LOTR trilogy – that resembels it, but I’m definitely too lazy for that right now.


As you can see, I have a lot of feelings about these movies and songs. But hey, I’m just in love with the Tolkien fandom, so what did you expect?

Do you like the movies too? What about the soundtrack?

I bid you all a very fond farewell.

See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

